Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

August 9: Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — go back and do a topic you missed over the years or recently or a topic you really want to revisit — I’ve made a handy spreadsheet to help (currently in the process of finishing it)

I chose Top Ten OCD Bookish Habits (from 7/10/12).

alpha (2)

 

1. Alphabetical. My books are shelved alphabetical by author’s last name, and in chronological order of each series.

bookmark

2. Bookmarks. Though I’ve collected far more bookmarks than I really need, I keep them organized and rotate the ones I use.

3. Holds. I check my library’s weekly acquisitions email as soon as possible, scanning through my favorite genres to be the first (or close) on the popular books, often hitting the hold limit.

calendar

4. Library Books. Due dates are written on a calendar and checked off when the book is returned, and books are kept in order from oldest to newest. Helps prevent late fees!

5. Order. If I get a book out of order, I’ll check out another and read them both, or return it. I never read out of order on purpose.

6. Re-reads. If I re-read a series, I always start from the first and read all the way to the most current. If I’m missing part of a series, no re-reading happens.

7. TBR list culling. I have no self-control when it comes to adding books to my digital TBR list. So I balance that out by going through the list every several months, and removing any titles I’m not still interested in reading.

tbr pile aug 16

8. TBR pile order. My TBR pile (the physical stack on my shelves) is kept in the exact order I got the books in, and do my best to read from oldest to newest. Unless I get a really good new book. I also try to make it fit in one pile, with mixed results.

window

9. Window Shopping. While in a bookstore/ at a library I will look up books on Goodreads and add them to my TBR list, but if I have less time, I just take a picture of the cover for later.

10. Wish lists. My library allows you to create digital wish lists of books to put on hold. I usually have between 3 to 5 of them at a time.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

15 responses »

  1. I’m also guilty of window shopping and periodically going through my digital TBR…though it still has more than 250 books on it! Having an actual physical pile for my TBR’s would be a good solution for me never reading the books I have, but I don’t have anywhere to put them in my apartment!

  2. I’ve begun the early stages of culling; which is really just me putting together a pile of books I doubt I’ll read. I just haven’t gotten to the next step of actually getting rid of it because WHAT IF [I want to read it]?! Struggles.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

  3. Random Reads says:

    You’re so organized!!!!!

  4. Mari says:

    I used to alphabetize my bookcases, up until I went on a book buying spree and then I just gave up and started stuffing them in shelves that sort of make sense (like fantasy authors go with other fantasy authors, etc.). That is awesome dedication to the bookshelf, though!

  5. Chachic says:

    Your number 9! I do that all the time too. 😀 That’s why it takes me ages whenever I’m browsing in a bookstore.

  6. Sonia @ The Book Wielding Harpie says:

    I often take pics at bookstores to check it later. Specially because I prefer to read the English versions instead of the Portuguese translations.

    Oh, and if our library system was a good one, I would definitely borrow your calendar idea. it looks neat.

What are your thoughts?

