Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

August 16: Top Ten Books With X Setting (top ten books set near the beach, top ten book set in boarding school, top ten books set in England, etc)

I chose London, magical or otherwise.

midnight riot

1. Midnight Riot; Ben Aaronovitch.

paddington

2. A Bear Called Paddington; Michael Bond.

oliver twist

3. Oliver Twist; Charles Dickens.

adventures sherlock holmes

4. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes; Arthur Conan Doyle.

cuckoos calling

5. Cuckoo’s Calling; Robert Gailbraith.

neverwhere

6. Neverwhere; Neil Gaiman.

frederica

7. Frederica; Georgette Heyer.

un lun dun

8. Un Lun Dun; China Mieville.

Jekyll and Hyde

9. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde; Robert Lois Stevenson.

dorian gray

10. The Picture of Dorian Gray; Oscar Wilde.

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

20 responses »

  1. I’ve only read one of these! (Can you guess which one?)

    Nice choice 🙂 London is a fascinating city 🙂 TTT- Beam Me Up

  2. @lynnsbooks says:

    I also chose London and we share a couple of the same books. I love that you included Dorian Grey as well.
    Lynn 😀

  3. What a fun choice! I’ve read books set in London before, but none of these. Thanks for sharing!

    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/08/16/top-ten-tuesday-ten-romance-novels-or-series-set-in-the-workplace/

  4. alr says:

    Great list! I had to really think hard about the books for this week’s Top Ten!!

  5. tiareleine says:

    London is such a fantastic setting! Probably because it has so much history for authors to be inspired by.

    Great list!

  6. eviepea48 says:

    I love Georgette Heyers too! I haven’t read Frederica yet, but have heard its one of her best ones.

  7. Ed Hoornaert says:

    We have similar tastes, Caitlin — I’ve read most of these, except for Midnight Riot and Cuckoo’s Calling. And Un Lun Dun; I don’t know why, but I have a hard time with Mieville.

  8. Random Reads says:

    Great list!! I haven’t read any of these books but they all look interesting 🙂

  9. Great picks for this week, I feel like there are so many options for books set in magical or otherwise London. I’ve only read Un Lun Dun and Neverwhere but I loved both, I’ve read loads by Neil Gaiman actually, he’s an amazing author! 😀

What are your thoughts?

