Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

August 30: Back To School Freebie — anything “back to school” related like 10 favorite books I read in school, books I think should be required reading, Required Reading For All Fantasy Fans, required reading for every college freshman, Books to Pair With Classics or Books To Complement A History Lesson, books that would be on my classroom shelf if I were a teacher.

I like the idea of Books to Pair With Classics. I think in a college course you could read both, or in high school read the modern/YA book and just talk about it’s classic version. It’s tough reading a book before you’re old enough for it…

don quixotegoing bovine

1. Don Quixote and Going Bovine. There’s something to be said for Cervantes’ mad adventures, but they’re not an easy read.

frankensteinheart of darkness this dark endeavor

2. Frankenstein and This Dark Endeavor. The second is a retelling of young Victor Frankenstein’s life, so it’s perfect.

grapes of wrathabsolutely true diary

3. The Grapes of Wrath and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Both deal with issues of poverty and the American Dream.

golden compassparadise lost

4. His Dark Materials and Paradise Lost. This is a trilogy, so it might need to be excerpts, but it could work.

jane eyrejane steele

5. Jane Eyre and Jane Steele. I love this homage, what can I say?

macbethbeautiful creatures

6. Macbeth and Beautiful Creatures. Witches, and family, and prophecy.

moby dickpaper towns

7. Moby Dick and Paper Towns. Some actual Moby Dick references in Paper Towns, and definite parallels in plot.

pride and prejudicesecret diary lizzy

8. Pride & Prejudice and The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet. Pretty obvious.

romeo and julietThe Fault in Our Stars

9. Romeo and Juliet and The Fault in Our Stars. Star-crossed lovers, and unhappy endings.

scarlet letter2boyfriend list

10. The Scarlet Letter and The Boyfriend List. The issue of dealing with your choices–and the shame other people heap on you for them.

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    What, you chose Secret Diary over Pride and Prejudice and Zombies? My TTT lists sci-fi cats to read about instead of doing homework.

  2. tiareleine says:

    This Dark Endeavor sounds really interesting. I may have to look into that! And I like the pairing of The Golden Compass with Paradise Lost. I haven’t actually read Paradise Lost, so I guess I just like the pairing in theory, haha.

  3. Hey we did the same thing for our lists! Great minds think alike 🙂 Such fun pairings. I know the classics but need to read many of the contemporary picks! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier 🙂

  4. beckmank says:

    What a great idea you had this week! I love the contemporary match ups. I haven’t read some of these but you are right on with Romeo & Juliet and A Fault in Our Stars.

What are your thoughts?

