Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

September 13: Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Books Of X Genre (I know, I know. Picking all time faves. I’m MEAN. But I like knowing people’s definitive faves). Can also break it down into sub-genre if that helps?

This is a tough one. I think I’ll have to pick mystery, because sometimes a good whodunit is a wonderful thing.

sweetness pie

1. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie; Alan Bradley. I can’t help but adore Flavia, pushy as she is. She’s so determined!

cat-who-could-read

2. The Cat Who Could Read Backwards; Lillian Jackson Braun. Solving mysteries… with cats.

Storm Front

3. Storm Front; Jim Butcher. A wizard P.I, for hire on the weird cases. Complete with talking skull sidekick.

size 12

4. Size 12 Is Not Fat; Meg Cabot. Heavy on the humor and romance, these mysteries are great when you want something a little light.

hound-of-the-baskervilles

5. The Hound of the Baskervilles; Arthur Conan Doyle. It’s amazing how many modern detectives were patterned on this character.

grave sight

6. Grave Sight; Charlaine Harris. My favorite series by her, mystery meets supernatural as a lightning-struck woman uses her talent to find the dead, and uncover their killers.

johannes cabal

7. Johannes Cabal: The Detective; James L. Howard. When a necromancer investigates a murder, things gets done.

forgotten garden

8. The Forgotten Garden; Kate Morton. Family can be quite mysterious.

deja dead

9. Deja Dead; Kathy Reichs. I found these books after the TV show based on them. At first I was baffled by the many changes, but then I liked this version of Dr. Brennan just as much.

naked-in-death

10. Naked in Death; J.D. Robb. There’s something the characters and their development that still draws me in to this series. Also, the futuristic world is rather amazing.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

19 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Great choices, all. Of course, I lean towards Harry Dresden, but I enjoyed several of these. And I love ALL the Temperance Brennan books, but couldn’t watch the series, because, hey. Not the same people. Lucky for me, I read the books long before the show came around. For my money, 99.9% of the time, the books is better. Usually MUCH better. (I’m SO glad The Dresden Files series died an early death, so I never had to throw my shoe at the screen.)

    I was sorry the Deja Dead series ended. (Dwindled away). I liked it very much.

    • Marcia says:

      Hey, Editor … you like “the books IS better?” Sorry. Typo!! (I meant to say, “the book ARE better.) Hahaha.

    • I think sometimes what you like best has to do with what you see first. But the show is more ‘inspired by’ than ‘based on,’ so I think of them as two separate things.
      Didn’t realize the books were done, though, I’m a bit behind on reading them.

      • Marcia says:

        Oh, I don’t know whether the books are done or not. I haven’t been following them lately, being all caught up with my recent love of all things fantasy. (On book 5 of the Iron Druid, now, for one.) But I read quite a few of them, and always enjoyed them. I used to like the Kay Scarpetta series, too, but I got kinda burned out on that one, after a couple of really dumb things happened. Tempe, though, was fun. Might have to check and see what’s new in her world.

        As for “books is” or “book are,” I knew you’d never be able to resist. 🙂

  2. I LOVED The Forgotten Garden! Have you read any of Kate Morton’s other books? I’ve only read TFG and The Distant Hours, but her other books are on my TBR!

  3. You have a ton of great books on here! I loved The Forgotten Garden and I used to read all of the J.D. Robb books. Nice list!
    My TTT.

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    Lovely to see The Hound of the Baskervilles on here. Great choice.
    Lynn 😀

  5. tiareleine says:

    I did my list on mysteries too! Although, you have a much wider variety of books. I’ll definitely have to check a few of these out (Storm Front, in particular, has caught my attention)!

    Great list! 🙂

  6. Mari says:

    I loved that the In Death world IS a futuristic mystery, but half the time the “future” is so subtle that I could imagine it happening in the here and now. Except, um, without the “fake” coffee and the luxury colonies in space, lol.

What are your thoughts?

