~~~~***~~ Happy Banned Book Awareness Week! Celebrate your freedom to read by reading a banned book. Or, you know, whatever you like.~~***~~~~

Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

September 27: Books On My Fall TBR List.

Here’s a list of books I plan to read during the fall season–at least the ten ones I’m most excited about.

hanging-tree

1. The Hanging Tree; Ben Aaronovitch. Trying to police the magic world is always complicated.

angel-catbird

2. Angel Catbird; Margaret Atwood. A graphic novel new series by an author I like.

crooked kingdom

3. Crooked Kingdom; Leigh Bardugo. The second book in a series about a group of thieves looking for a big payout.

bronze-key

4. The Bronze Key; Holly Black. A dangerous magical school.

feedback

5. Feedback; Mira Grant. Everyone has the zombie virus in them–this makes life exciting.

fall-of-the-house-of-cabal

6. The Fall of the House of Cabal; Johnathan Howard. Necromancer Cabal gets into more trouble.

gemina

7. Gemina; Amie Kaufman. The second book in a sci fi series with lots of interesting text/images.

elite

8. Elite; Mercedes Lackey. Otherworld monsters and the people who hunt them.

heartless

9. Heartless; Marissa Meyer. The history of the queen of hearts before she was queen.

project elfhome

10. Project Elfhome; Wen Spencer. A short story collection about elves and humans and magic.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

24 responses »

  1. Gemina! Gemina! Gemina! lol I just recently picked up one of Seanan McGuire/Mira Grant’s Incryptid novels (sp?). Can’t wait to actually start reading it.

    My TTT.

  2. Marcia says:

    Interesting list, Caitlin, as always. Crooked Kingdom was delivered to my Kindle early this morning, and the hardback is on the way via snail mail. I’m so excited, I might have to push the pause button on Magic Binds, and read this one first. (I’m only on CH 1 of MB, and while I know I will enjoy it, Crooked Kingdom as been CALLING to me ever since I finished Six of Crows.)

    The Fall of the House of Cabal and The Bronze Key sound pretty interesting. Heading over to Amazon to add them to my Wish List.

    🙂

    • Marcia says:

      And yes, I bought both the eBook and the hardback of Crooked Kingdom, because ebooks are easier to read, but the cover of this book is too beautiful NOT to display on my shelves! I’ve been drooling over it for weeks and weeks!

    • I love that about ebook pre-orders. 🙂
      Both Cabal and Bronze Key are part of a series, so you know.

      • Marcia says:

        I saw that, and added the first books to my Wish List. I WANT that first Cabal book with the wonderful skull cover, but it’s not available with that cover on amazon anymore. 😦 And you know that Robin Hobb Fitz book cover By Alejandro Colucci I want so much, with Fitz swinging the ax? It’s going for over $400 now!!! I’ll NEVER own it, and I want it SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much. So now, if I like a cover, I try to grab it while it’s still in print.

  3. I am unbelievably excited for the Hanging Tree, Crooked Kingdom and Gemina. So much to look forward to. Interesting list too!
    I did something a bit different for my TTT post this week – Books That Were Out of My Comfort Zone – if you want to take a look: http://wp.me/p6ZCTI-CR

  4. Random Reads says:

    I haven’t read any of these books but they all look great!

  5. lipsyy says:

    I missed Heartless off my list, damn it!

    Oh well, I’m still 100% needing to read it right now! LOL.

    My actual list is here: https://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2016/09/27/top-ten-tuesday-autumn-tbr-ttt/

  6. YASYASYAAAAAAAS @ Gemina–I need that book SO BADLY, I can’t even! I just… I want it in my hands to love and squeal over and pet and cuddle… It’s safe to say I want to do things to that book. Like crack it open. Flip the pages. READ! (so naughty, I know!)

    Lmao thank you so much for stopping by my TTT this week–and happy book-ing to you in the near future!

  7. I didn’t even know Mira Grant was releasing a new Newsflesh book. Very excited about that!

  8. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Margaret Atwood has a graphic novel series now? For an old codger, Atwood is pretty spry and adventuresome.

  9. tiareleine says:

    It’s so exciting to see Crooked Kingdom on almost everyone’s list this week! I didn’t realize how pumped I was for that book until the release-date-hype-train started up.

    Great list! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

