Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday3

October 11:  All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation — Ten Books I’ve Read Because Of Another  Blogger (Or Book Person) or Ten Books I Read On Recommendation From People Outside Of This Community or you could talk about recommendations of books you read from other sources — a magazine, a podcast, a “because you read this” algorithm.

These are the most recent books I enjoyed that I found a recommendation for… somewhere. I don’t keep track, but mostly book blogs, sometimes a book-related email, and occasionally a book club or challenge.

smaller smaller circles

1. Smaller and Smaller Circles; F.H. Batacan. A challenge recommendation, about hunting a serial killer.

wake-of-vultures

2. Wake of Vultures; Lila Bowen. Listened to the author talk about it, and the idea of a western where the characters have a more fluid gender identity–and there’s more out there than rattlesnakes and rustlers–sounded intriguing.

notorious rbg

3. The Notorious RBG; Irin Carmon. A challenge suggestion, and that title alone made me curious. A detailed but not exhausting story of a life, with plenty of pictures.

red-queen

4. The Red Queen; Christina Henry. The second book in a dark version of Alice in Wonderland, which is a little more realistic and a lot more scary!

relish

5. Relish; Lucy Knisley. A challenge suggestion, pairing recipes with a graphic novel. A feast for the eyes, in cartoony and friendly form.

monstress

6. Monstress; Marjorie Liu. Read a review about this dark, lovely graphic novel. It’s grim, but fascinating, about a war where the monsters aren’t so simple to identify.

city bakers

7. The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living; Louise Miller. Really, all someone has to do is say a book is about cooking and good, and I’ll give it a shot. Add in a kitchen disaster, and some romance? Perfect fun.

a monster calls

8. A Monster Calls; Patrick Ness. On a book challenge suggestion list for books made into movies. Rides the line between dream and reality, and I’m curious to see how the movie does.

princess-princess

9. Princess Princess Ever After; Katie O’Neill. Pointed out on a blog as a cute story about two princesses who find their happily ever after–their way. A short graphic novel, but packed with smiles.

savage-song

10. This Savage Song; Victoria Schwab. Saw this one on a bunch of blogs. It’s difficult to be different…

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

16 responses »

  1. I might see if the Princess Princess Ever After is suitable for the 7 year old. She’s a sucker for graphic novels.

    A Monster Calls was soo good!

    My TTT .

  2. I found A Monster Calls through recommendations, too. Such an amazing book!
    My TTT.

  3. I also found This Savage Song through recommendations. Mostly from my roommate, who loves everything V. E. Schwab, haha!

    My TTT

  4. Run Wright says:

    I feel like I’ve seen everyone talk about The Savage Song now. I’ll have to check it out soon too

  5. tiareleine says:

    Everyone says Victoria Schwab’s books are fantastic. I always seem to add them to my tbr around their release date because of the hype… but then I never actually get around to reading them…

    Great list! 🙂

  6. Mari says:

    I’ve been pushed to read The Savage Song asap, which I kind of did, and I loved it! Monstress was ❤ too! I've read one Ness book (The Rest of Us Just Live Here), and it was pretty but I'm still not sure if I'd prioritize any of his other stuff ATM.

  7. Gabrielle says:

    I LOVED A Monster Calls. It made me ugly cry like you wouldn’t believe. The Red Queen and Monstress are on my TBR pile. Hoping to get to them soon. Great list!

  8. Random Reads says:

    I haven’t read any of these but they all have eye catching covers!!

What are your thoughts?

