Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues

October 18: Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After — we did this topic back in 2011 and thought it might be fun to revisit it…feel free to spin it how you need!

pride and prejudice

1. Elizabeth “Lizzie” Bennett. Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen. A perfect name for a lively brown tabby with lovely eyes.

prudence

2. Prudence “Rue” Alessandra Maccon Akeldama. Prudence; Gail Carriger. A rare creature with quick wit, good for one of those exotic-looking cat breeds.

Matilda

3. Matilda Wormwood. Matilda; Roald Dahl. A patient, and loving family dog for sure, with just a hint of mischief.

adventures sherlock holmes

4. Irene Adler. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes; Arthur Conan Doyle. Clever and quick on her feet, a good name for a cat.

daughter smoke bone

5. Karou. Daughter of Smoke & Bone; Taylor Laini. Partly because it’s a cool name, the rest because she’s a tough character. Would need to be something leggy.

rosemary and rue

6. October “Toby” Daye. Rosemary & Rue; Seanan McGuire. Definitely for a cat–one that’s not too fond of water.

Harry Potter

7. Hermione Granger. Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone; J.K. Rowling. Either a long haired cat or a shaggy dog, but either way a smart animal.

Tinker

8. Wolf Who Rules Wind “Windwolf.” Tinker; Wen Spencer. This would be a good name for a big, strong dog.

thief of time

9. Susan Sto Helit. Thief of Time; Terry Pratchett. A name for an elegant, maybe black and white dog. Possibly an unusual breed.

picture-dorian-gray

10. Dorian Gray. The Picture of Dorian Gray; Oscar Wilde. Definitely a cat name. Maybe a gray cat.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

29 responses »

  1. I love the October “Toby” name too.

  2. Toby is a great pet name! My MIL has a dog named Toby and it’s so cute!
    My TTT.

    • Short names–or nicknames, at least–work well for pets, I think. Except for a friend of mine who named his dog Sir Dapplepants von Bratwurst, which is awesome in its own way.

      • That is awesome! I kind of love it when pets have a first and last name. I heard it in a movie once. The dog was named Dolly Parton. It made me want to name my next dog after a country or rock star with a good name.

  3. Great choices! ❤ Elizabeth Bennet is on my list as well 🙂 I also like the name Matilda and Hermione is of course a fantastic namesake!
    Here are the names I chose:
    https://mreadsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/10/18/ttt-6-characters-id-name-a-child-after/

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    Toby is great for a cat – especially because of the dislike of water. And also Dorian Gray – maybe for a sophisticated cat like a Siamese.
    Lynn 😀

  5. tiareleine says:

    Karou is on my list this week, too! It’s such a cool name. I also like Elizabeth (since there are so many variations), and I think October works surprisingly well as a name.

    Great list! 🙂

  6. Mari says:

    I do like the ring of Pru/Rue and Karou (it’s that “ooh” sound, I swear!). Prudence does have a quirky set of names. Speaking of which…I really should get through Carriger’s series…

  7. Random Reads says:

    Great names! I love how everyone chose to do this topic 🙂

  8. paperjasmine says:

    Love Matilda for a dog!! 😊

  9. mki52 says:

    I haven’t read most of these books, but I love the name Karou. I also love the idea of a gray cat named Dorian Gray :D!

  10. Matilda would make a lovely name for a big yellow lab ❤️

  11. amermelstein says:

    Dorian Gray is such a great name for a cat!

What are your thoughts?

