Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

November 1: Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes _______________ (if your book club likes historical fiction, inspiring stories, YA books, non-fiction, controversial books to debate about, or pick a specific book)

Book club books are tough! So I’m picking a couple genres: mystery, non-fiction, and thoughtful books.

Mystery

malice

1. Malice; Keigo Higashino. A complex and twisty mystery.

serpents-tooth

2. A Serpent’s Tooth; Craig Johnson. You can start wherever in this series, good if your book club likes the tv show Longmire.

better-late-than-never

3. Better Late Than Never; Jenn McKinlay. This is book 7 of a series, but it’s the first I read and it worked fine. A great read for cozy mystery fans–with librarians and plenty of bookish references.

Non-fiction

one child

4. One Child; Mei Fong. About the one child policy in China, and the unintended consequences.

african-in-greenland

5. An African In Greenland; Tété-Michel Kpomassie. From one culture to another.

salt-sugar-fat

6. Salt Sugar Fat; Michael Moss. Want to never look at processed food the same way again? Read this book.

love-from-boy

7. Love from Boy; Donal Sturrock. Letters of author Roald Dahl to his mother, a great read if there are a bunch of fans in your book club.

Thoughtful Books

hag-seed

8. Hag-Seed; Margaret Atwood. A re-telling of The Tempest. Definitely would lead to a discussion about revenge.

dark-matter

9. Dark Matter; Blake Crouch. Something difficult to explain without spoilers–but interesting science fiction.

under a painted sky

10. Under a Painted Sky; Stacey Lee. Historical fiction–you could talk about the past, and the way the world has changed.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. I rarely read non-fiction, so it’s nice to see some on here that look interesting. I’d definitely consider them if I was in a book club!
    My TTT.

  2. I’ve heard tons of great things about Dark Matter (it’s nominated for a Goodreads Award for this year!) but haven’t had the chance to check it out yet. Definitely looking forward to picking it up.
    my TTT.

  3. That collection of Roald Dahl letters sounds neat. I just read a collection of Laura Ingalls WIlder letters and I really enjoyed it. Great list!

    My TTT: https://greenishbookshelf.com/2016/11/01/top-10-tuesday-book-club-picks-i-would-actually-finish/

  4. tiareleine says:

    I don’t know why I haven’t read anything by Stacey Lee yet. I love historical fiction, and her books seem to be well-liked. But Under a Painted Sky has been moving back and forth from my tbr to my maybe ever since it came out, and I should really just read it already, I think.

    Great list! 🙂

  5. I just requested Hag-Seed from Blogging for Books! I’m happy to see it made this list!

What are your thoughts?

