This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is a WIP, NaNoWriMo 2015, Forest Wed. Adann and Kaie (who was engaged), are married as symbols of their gods, and 2 weeks into their marriage, the gods’ blessing and the town are suffering, so they are sent on a hunting trip with two experienced hunters (Rui and Corliss). On the third day, Kaie and Adann  are talking, and when Adann asks for a kiss, Kaie reacts badly and storms off alone, running into an angry ryapi (ocelot/boar monster)–he breaks free and Adann joins in the attack. (I’ve skipped over some fighting)

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

“Adann!” Kaie yelled.

“I’m not leaving you here!” she shouted back, which made the ryapi’s ears flick towards her. Taking a few more steps back, she kept her gaze fixed on the enraged, wounded animal.

They would have a talk, Kaie determined, about fighting a deadly monster with no weapons in hand. She hadn’t reached for her sling, because it was near useless against the thick bones and dense hair of the ryapi, and he wished she carried another long knife, not only the little one used to cut fruit, which would also be about as useful as a splinter in this fight.

He didn’t want to draw the ryapi’s attention to her again, so he moved in, as it lowered its head, pawed the ground, and charged again. Turning, he readied the spear to throw, but the ryapi crashed to its knees.

They both closed in, and roaring, the ryapi shoved to its paws, lunged at Kaie, and then toppled over, legs stiff.

Adann stared at him, wide-eyed, face ashy pale, “Did we … is it dead?”

*    *    *

~~~***I’ll be doing National Novel Writing Month in November, so I may be slow in my replies, but I’ll still be blogging! Good luck to all the NaNoWriMos! ***~~~

Beikife is a small town in something like the Amazon rain forest, protected by a pair of married gods. The gods are represented by human avatars, two young people chosen and married by divine power. The strength of the marriage represents the bond between the gods’ blessing, so the new forest wed must find a way to connect to each other, or the crops will fail, the rivers will flood, and the cursed monsters that live in the forest will claim many

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

34 responses »

  1. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    What happened to the ryapi? I have a feeling it was not their doing, but someone or something else. Great snippet! I always want to read more. 🙂

  2. Cara Bristol says:

    Well, that was a close one!

  3. Did I detect a flicker of concern? These two might be getting somewhere.

    (History Sleuth’s wewriwa mystery)

  4. Alexis Duran says:

    These two better get their act together before their luck runs out.

  5. Well, okay then. I’m out of breath myself LOL. Thanks for sparing us more details of the episode (not a fan of too much gory stuff although you’re such a good writer). Excellent excerpt.

  6. The couple who kills together lives to have many babies together. An ancient proverb says.
    Exciting snippet!

  7. angelicadawson says:

    Great snippet. Interesting world you’ve created.

  8. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I’m not quite sure how they killed it, but the creature’s death is very dramatic.

    • There was much stabbing, people nearly being gored or trampled to death, and bleeding, which previously people did not like. So I skipped over it.
      I’ve watched some documentaries and read about wild boars–they’re quite difficult to kill!

  9. Wait, what? How? What happened! Lots of tension in this snippet!

    • I had about two or three snippets of a bloody, determined boar trying to murder my characters, and I figured it would gross out some of the WeWriWas–so I skipped to the death scene. 😉

  10. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I almost wish you left the gory details in. Although it seems as though Adann doesn’t quite know how they killed it, either. Darn–you’re going to have to get this book into print fast so I can read it.

  11. Diane Burton says:

    Oh my goodness. Who killed it? Raises all kinds of questions. Good job.

    • I didn’t mean to cut so much of the gore out to be confusing. It was a combined effort–but Kaie struck the finishing blow. (He has a spear, Adann only has a knife, and boars have tough skin.)

  12. I’m just gonna throw this out there: Kaie doesn’t deserve Adann! That girl’s one of a kind and certainly knows how to handle herself! Haha That said, I’m excited for him to realize just how special she is and show her how wonderful she is. 😀

  13. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    What just happened? Did someone arrive to help them? I’m curious to know. What an intense scene. I’m really liking this story. 🙂

    • Yeah, I cut too much of the blood and fighting to try not to ick people out.
      Basically Kaie used his spear, Adann used her knife to distract, and Kaie got nearly gored or trampled a few times.
      Glad to hear it!

  14. Yay! They did it- somehow. 🙂 Maybe Kaie will start to come around now.

  15. elainecsc2013 says:

    Did someone help them? Doesn’t sound like it so hooray for their cooperation.

  16. That should pull them closer together–a joint cause. You’re doing a good job of showing their developing feelings toward each other. 🙂

  17. Wow, intense! I hope they pull together as a team for good now!

What are your thoughts?

