This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is a WIP, NaNoWriMo 2015, Forest Wed. Adann and Kaie (who was engaged), are married as symbols of their gods, and 2 weeks into their marriage, the gods’ blessing and the town are suffering, so they are sent on a hunting trip with two experienced hunters (Rui and Corliss). On the third day, Kaie runs into an angry ryapi (ocelot/boar monster), which he and Adann manage to kill, but Kaie is covered in cuts and bruises, which Corliss and Adann tend to, then the three of them return to camp while Rui butchers the monster.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

“Nobody died,” Adann murmured, drifting closer to Kaie as they walked, “I call that a job well done.”

He glanced at her, wondering if she was joking, but her expression was serious. Then he remembered vaguely hearing that she had lost an uncle, or perhaps an older cousin, gored by a ryapi.

“Did you…” He paused, trying to think of a way to ask the question without revealing how little attention he’d paid to her life.

“One got my mother’s brother, three autumns ago. I saw him days later, and he already smelled of the rot, sweet and bright…” She shuddered, and Kaie reached out, brushing her wrist, tentative.

She glanced at him, and smiled shyly, turning her hand so her palm faced him. He laced his fingers in hers, and they stayed entwined all rest of the way back to camp.

 

*    *    *

~~~***I’ll be doing National Novel Writing Month in November, so I may be slow in my replies, but I’ll still be blogging! Good luck to all the NaNoWriMos! ***~~~

Beikife is a small town in something like the Amazon rain forest, protected by a pair of married gods. The gods are represented by human avatars, two young people chosen and married by divine power. The strength of the marriage represents the bond between the gods’ blessing, so the new forest wed must find a way to connect to each other, or the crops will fail, the rivers will flood, and the cursed monsters that live in the forest will claim many

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

34 responses »

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Adann is such a great character. I love how she is winning him over, step by small step.

  2. nancygideon says:

    Nice tender scene, Caitlin!

  3. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Oh My Gosh! It’s about time!! Love it! I’m so glad Kaie is finally starting to come around, accept Adann rather than blame her for what happened.

  4. Hands entwined. Oh yes! How I love the picture you’ve painted.

  5. Kim Magennis says:

    Excellent pace, Caitlin. Adann’s microscopic wins with Kaie build a huge anticipation in the story.

    • Thanks! I didn’t originally plan their romance to be so slow, but as I developed all their obstacles, I realized a few days to fall in love wasn’t realistic. Next time I need less stubborn characters!

  6. Progress! Finally! 😉 Really did love this moment between them. It’s very tender.

  7. angelicadawson says:

    How sad.

  8. Nice little moment between them, ironic to bond over a relative killed off by one of your ferocious creatures LOL, but it did work for me. Great snippet!

  9. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I like how she reads his mind.

  10. Awww, sweet of them, holding hands. I knew he’d have to start coming around sometime. Nice snippet!!

  11. Cara Bristol says:

    They have a such a challenging relationship.

  12. Jenna Jaxon says:

    There’s nothing like a dramatic/traumatic event to bond people. Looks like this is working!

  13. Diane Burton says:

    Sweet. Entwined hands? Progress. Yay!

  14. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    Loved this scene. A step in the right direction. So glad he took her hand. 🙂

  15. elainecsc2013 says:

    Way to go! They’re going in the right direction.

  16. naomi shaw says:

    I love this tender moment developing. Great snippet

  17. Wow, he’s finally coming around?! Woot. Hope you won NaNo!

What are your thoughts?

