Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

November 29: Holiday Gift Guide freebie (ten books to buy the YA lover in your life, 10 books to buy for your dad, etc.)

This list is books to buy for your family. They’re about family, love, friendship, etc., because if you’re buying books for a family member, you must love them! 😉

meet-you-there

1. I’ll Meet You There; Heather Demetrios. For fans of a love story.

anansi boys

2. Anansi Boys; Neil Gaiman. It’s not easy being the son of a god…

namesake2

3. The Namesake; Jhumpa Lahiri. About families, and growth, parents and their children.

godfather

4. The Godfather; Mario Puzo. Not just family, but the Family you really don’t want to disappoint.

look me in the eye

5. Look Me In the Eye; John Elder Robinson. A look inside a life growing up on the autism spectrum, and how that affects relationships.

nobodys-fool

6. Nobody’s Fool; Richard Russo. A flawed father, and a son following in his footsteps.

end life book club

7. The End of your Life Book Club; Will Schwalbe. Want a book about family that will make you cry? This is a good one.

joy-luck

8. The Joy Luck Clan; Amy Tan. About mothers and their daughters.

glass castle

9. The Glass Castle; Jeanette Walls. A dysfunctional family memoir.

golem jinni

10. The Golem and the Jinni; Helene Wecker. Two magical creatures find their way to each other, and develop an unlikely friendship.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

12 responses »

  1. Thus far I haven’t found a Neil Gaiman book I really liked (Other than Good Omens). Maybe Anansi Boys will be it?

    I’ve had Golemn and Jinni on my audio book shelf forever. One of these days I really will get through it!!

    My TTT

  2. Marcia says:

    Unlike Lilyn, I’ve never found a Gaiman book I DIDN’T like, so it just proves how very subjective reading is. Anansi Boys has been on my TBR list for a while. Time to try it, for sure. Read The Godfather when it came out, and have pretty much avoided all things Mafia-related, since. They are not a family I enjoy. 😦 Everything else on your list is new to me, Caitlin, and I am particularly drawn to the cover of the first one. It looks like a love story I’d enjoy, perhaps not too fluffy? But romantic? The Golem and the Jinni sounds good, too. Adding these to my ever-growing list. Thanks as always for intriguing selections.

  3. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I’m somewhere in between Lilyn and Marcia: some Gaiman I like and some I find just plain weird. I haven’t read Anansi Boys, but I may get around to it some day.

  4. tiareleine says:

    The more I see The Golem and the Jinni around, the more I want to read it. I wasn’t really that interested in it when it first came out, but that cover is beautiful and a lot of people seem to really love the book, so lately I’ve been thinking I should read it.

    Great list! 🙂

  5. BookerTalk says:

    I read the End of Your Life Book club a few years ago – lots of titles I had never heard of. The part I enjoyed most was the book discussions he had with his mother.

  6. I’ve been wondering which book to make my next Neil Gaiman book, and it looks like I’ve found it! I’ve also been recommended both The Golem and the Jinni and The Glass Castle recently, so it’s good to know they also have your stamp of approval.

What are your thoughts?

