arbol-navideno-by-azulino

Image from WikiMedia by Azulino.

Today is December 1st, and depending on where you live, you’ve been seeing Christmas stuff for weeks. The tinsel and wreaths really start ramping up Thanksgiving weekend, and sometimes after a few weeks, I pull a Scrooge and hide from it all for a while. Not that I don’t love the holiday trimmings, because I do, but I’m not sure the season is quite as special when it’s forever.

After all these weeks of ornaments, fake snow, and carols, it seems like winter ought to be here already. But the official start (at least for my  hemisphere) is December 21st. That’s still three weeks away! I’ll be honest, I start wearing Christmas/winter clothes and jewelry on December 1st. (I have some awesome holiday socks!) And I’ve been humming carols since going to an event Thanksgiving Weekend where they were playing everywhere.

Even though fall is my favorite season, it gets a little shortchanged.

How about you? Do you have the lights up by early November, or wait a little longer to deck the halls? Do you have any holiday reading lists? I’m working on a small stack to fit in between the shopping and wrapping and visits.

Happy holidays!

*     *    *    *     *

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

How’d it go, WriMos? Did you make it to 50,000 words? You’re all amazing, no matter how much you wrote!

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

5 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I get a little miffed when Thanksgiving gets lost in the shuffle, even though I’m a die-hard Christmas fanatic. We start our decorating the Friday AFTER Thanksgiving. While everyone else is fighting mobs at the store, we’re putting up the outside lights, and bringing down my huge collection of Santas and other goodies for inside. Every room gets decorated. I love it, and I revel in the land of Christmas until after the first of the year. But I don’t want to give up the traditional autumn events, either, so I try to ignore what’s going on at the stores until I feel it’s time.

    I know one of these days, it’s going to be too much work for me to tackle all our decorations, so I’m enjoying them while I still have the energy to put them all up. I have been letting my kids and my grandkids pick one or two things from my collections the last two years, though. Paring down a miniscule amount, in preparations for the day when they’ll inherit them ALL, and I’ll enjoy THEIR decorations, instead of mine. 🙂

    • You do decorate all out! I remember the pictures! 😀

      • Marcia says:

        I do, but I like my Halloween and Thanksgiving Decorations, too, and hate when either (but especially Thanksgiving) gets short shrift at the stores. I went to buy some Indian corn for my front door ten days before Thanksgiving, and all the fall stuff was gone. Shelves all filled with Christmas. What the heck? I mean, I can see them bringing out some Christmas stuff early, but why couldn’t it have been in addition TO, instead of in place OF? 😦

  2. Congrats on winning NoNaWriMo!

What are your thoughts?

