Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

December 6: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

simon vs homo sapiens

1. Becky Albertalli. Sometimes, I want someone who can write a cute and light romance.

girl-ghost-eyes

2. M.H. Boroson. Loved the richness of the writing, you just sink right into it…

invisible-librarymasked-city

3. Genevieve Cogman. Two words: librarian spies.

jane steele

4. Lyndsay Faye. I loved her homage to Jane Eyre. Anyone who can use the line “Reader, I murdered him” has a sense of humor I admire.

night-callskindred-rites

5. Katherine Kimbriel. The menace of the antagonists makes the protagonist, a young girl, seem very small… and yet she prevails.

life-changing-magic-of-not

6. Sarah Knight. I admire her sense of humor, and no-nonsense approach to an issue that gives plenty of people trouble–saying ‘no.’

better-late-than-never

7. Jenn McKinley. I randomly picked up a book in a librarian series, and it was the perfect bookish cozy mystery.

book-phoenix

8. Nnedi Okorafor. I adore her world building, especially how she layers her world’s past onto present subtly but with a sense of presence.

hundred-thousand

9. Bob Proehl. Even though he left an open ending, the sweep of emotion and interweaving of stories sold me on his writing.

sorcerer wildeeps

10. Kai Ashante Wilson. Any writer who can make you want more of the story is a good one, I think.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

20 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    Very interesting list. Some of these are going on my TBR list, for sure! 🙂

  2. I’m reading my first Nnedi Okorafor book now. Lagoon. 🙂

    Good list! My TTT

  3. Okay, I’m going to have to try at least one of these authors next year because I haven’t read any of them!
    My TTT.

  4. tiareleine says:

    I read Lyndsay Faye for the first time this year too (although I didn’t have room for her on my list this week…). I started with The Gods of Gotham, though, but I really liked it so I think I may need to read Jane Steele.

    Great list! 🙂

  5. Great list this week! I have been eyeballing that cover for Jane Steele for MONTHS now, and remain undecided about whether I’ll pick it up in the future or leave it be…but your tiny blurb about it has certainly piqued my curiosity!

    Thanks so much for sharing! Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday if you’re interested in checking it out. No pressure or worries if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the near future, and have a great rest of your Tuesday!

  6. Good list! I think Simon vs. Was my favourite book this year. I just addored it

  7. gwenkate says:

    I can’t wait to read The Invisible Library — glad to see it on your list! ~Gwen

  8. I’ve only read Simon Vs. and The Invisible Library from your list this week but they’re amazing books so it’s great to see them on your list. I’m glad you enjoyed them, great picks for this week as well! 😀

  9. Being a huge Jane Eyre fan, I’ve had my eye on Jane Steele since it came out. My husband actually bought it for me for my birthday, so I really don’t have an excuses as to why I’ve not read it yet. I am looking forward to it!

What are your thoughts?

