Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

December 13:  Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017

These are books releasing in the first half of 2017 that I can’t wait to read!

white hot

1. White Hot; Ilona Andrews. (May 30) Super powerful possibly insane man “Mad” Rogan is very interested in P.I. Nevada Baylor. This will end well.

city-of-miracles

2. City of Miracles; Robert Jackson Bennett. (Apr 20) A series that explores the price of winning and facing the enemies you defeated.

etched-in-bone

3. Etched in Bone; Anne Bishop. (Mar 7) Some humans tried to destroy the Others (various supernatural beings)–and it ended poorly. Now what will the Other do?

silence-fallen

4. Silence Fallen; Patricia Briggs. (Mar 7) Werewolves! And a kick-butt coyote shifter mechanic.

sweetest-burn

5. The Sweetest Burn; Jeaniene Frost. (Jun 27) Demons and revenge. (Why are they always shirtless on the cover?)

strange-the-dreamer

6. Strange the Dreamer; Taylor Laini. (Mar 28) Start of a new series by an author I like. The synopsis mentions war, heroes, and librarians. Sold!

magic-for-nothing

7. Magic for Nothing; Seanan McGuire. (Mar 7) Incryptids walk among us, and this family protects them from humans.

perilous-undertaking

8. A Perilous Undertaking; Deanna Raybourn. (Jan 10) Victorian adventure and mystery.

conjuring-of-light

9. A Conjuring of Light; V.E. Schwab. (Feb 21). Book #3 in a series with very dangerous alternate worlds. And magic!

black-wolves-boston

10. Black Wolves of Boston, Wen Spencer. (Feb 7) The start of a series by an author I adore. Vampires and werewolves and a wicked plot.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

29 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    I’m right there with you on White Hot. I’ve been waiting forever for them to get back to this series. Also Magic for Nothing–Seanan McGuire. Need I say more? I’ve got to start reading the Anne Bishop series. Been meaning to, but alas. Time for reading is so hard to find! And I’ve been engrossed in some new fantasy worlds lately, with Brent Weeks, Douglas Hulick, and Stephon Blackmoore.

    Of course, I’ll be reading Silence Falling, though I don’t care for that cover. And as for the shirtless guy on The Sweetest Burn, at least he has a HEAD! I’m pretty sick of headless bare torsos, with airbrushed abs that look suspiciously like they belong on a ninja turtle. 😯

    And I don’t see one title I was expecting. Have you, like me, almost given up on the next Dresden Files book? Jim Butcher, what the heck are you THINKING? At this rate, I’ll be 104 before the series concludes!

    Great list, and I’ve added a couple of new books to mine. Thanks.

    • I didn’t have the Butcher book on my TBR, somehow, and by the time I did add it, I’d already finished the list and felt too lazy to add it in. But I’m glad we’re getting it soon-ish!

  2. Because if they’re not shirtless on the cover, how are we supposed to know they’re hot? God forbid we use our imagination! *grin*

    I think I might pick up more in the Incryptid series. I only read one and it was okay, but maybe I just didn’t pick a strong book to start with. (It was “Half off Ragnarok”.)

    My TTT

  3. We don’t have any books in common this week, but I am curious to see what everyone thinks of Strange the Dreamer. I might pick it up depending on the reviews. 😉
    My TTT.

  4. tiareleine says:

    Strange the Dreamer is on my list this week as well! Part of me was beginning to think we’d never see another Laini Taylor book! I’m sure it will be worth the wait, though.

    Great list! 🙂

  5. Mari says:

    Yes to most of these! And yeeeees Mercy Thompson book! I absolutely loved Fire Touched so I cannot wait for the next one XD

  6. @lynnsbooks says:

    Great list. I want most of these! White Hot – oh yes. And the Wolves of Boston really sounds good.
    Lynn 😀

  7. I definitely can’t wait for A Conjuring of Light and Strange the Dreamer, both are at the top of my most anticipated releases list for 2017. I’m also excited for The Sweetest Burn, I’ve loved everything Jeaniene Frost has released so far and this will be no exception!
    Great picks for this week. 🙂

  8. I am not kidding, I only know 2 of those books …

  9. Erika says:

    A Conjuring of Light is one of the books I’m the most excited for 🙂 great list 😀

  10. lenoreo says:

    ROFL, I loved the one that mentions war, heroes and librarians…I agree! Sold!

  11. BookerTalk says:

    Ive not heard of any of these authors. I tend to run a million miles away from books that have covers like the one for The Sweetest Burn 🙂

  12. Dina says:

    Happy New Year to you and your loved ones!

What are your thoughts?

