Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flowers

December 27: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016 (you choose — best books overall of what you read regardless of pub date, of a particular genre, 2016 debuts, 2016 releases, etc)

I’m doing my ten favorites of books I read in 2016. This one is tough, but I reserve the right to change my mind. 🙂

breakout

1. Breakout; Ann Aguirre. A space station prison, and a truly desperate need to escape before they all die.

betrayals

2. Betrayals; Kelley Armstrong. A strange, fey little town, with a whole bunch of clever liars, and one woman who has to decide what she wants–and how hard she’ll fight for it.

magic binds

3. Magic Binds; Ilona Andrews. Kick-butt magic-user/ mercenary with some serious daddy issues. (He wants to destroy everything.)

marked in flesh

4. Marked in Flesh; Anne Bishop. The humans decided to steal the Others (supernatural beings) territory, and the Others fight back.

fire touched

5. Fire Touched; Patricia Briggs. Mercy Thompson, mechanic and mate to an alpha werewolf. She takes no sh!t.

wake-of-vultures

6. Wake of Vultures; Lila Bowen. A supernatural western, and a sudden ability to see the monsters hiding as humans.

Layout 1

7. Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen; Lois McMaster Bujold. The story of a wife and mother after she loses her husband–a tough woman finding a new life path.

sorcerer_front mech.indd

8. Sorcerer to the Crown; Zen Cho. Having magic can be difficult, but two outsiders make an effort. Excellent world building in this one!

once-broken-faith

9. Once Broken Faith; Seanan McGuire. One of my favorite urban fantasy series. Deadly sidhe, wicked magic, and a King of Cats in tight leather pants.

raven king

10. Raven King; Maggie Stiefvater. The last book in a series with magic, love, prophecy, and a sleeping king.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

15 responses »

  1. Lilyn G says:

    I haven’t read a single book on this list. I remember thinking I wanted to get Gentleman Jole at one point, but I kept forgetting about it every time I was actually looking for books. Bother! The space prison breakout one looks good! My Best Sci-Fi & Scary Novels of 2016

    • This is why I make book lists. Also, I am a list nerd, but you know, it helps. 😉
      I recommend the space prison trilogy– the first one is Perdition. There are some deeply flawed characters, interesting species interactions, and very scary space station prison.

  2. Dang. I still need to read The Raven King. At least it made your list, so I know it’s good! 🙂
    My TTT.

  3. tiareleine says:

    I’ve been meaning to read something by Patricia Briggs for a few years now, but it’s hard to find the first book in either of her series anywhere!

    Great list! 🙂

  4. A new series by Ann Aguirre? This is intriguing news indeed… 🙂

  5. wcs53 says:

    Nice list. As you said, it is tough to come up with a list. After I posted mine I thought of a couple of others that could have been on my list.

  6. I have heard so many good things about Zen Cho’s book. I hope to read it soon! You have some great books on your list. 🙂

  7. I read the entire Raven Cycle this year for the first time. Blue Lily, Lily Blue was definitely my favorite in the series! Great list 🙂

What are your thoughts?

