Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

January 24:  FREEBIE — that super specific list you want to make?? All yours to tackle this week!

I’m going for something near and dear to most bibliophile’s hearts… special editions. Here’s the top ten special editions I would own if I had far more bookshelves.

b-n-classics

1. Barnes and Noble Classics. I like the simple covers and the elegant spines on these.

barnes-and-noble-classic

2. Barnes and Noble Collectible Editions. These ones are a bit more elaborate and shiny.

drop-caps2

3. Penguin Drop Caps. The simple design of the big letter makes these very striking.

penguin-clothbound

4. Penguin Hardcover Classics. The way the pattern on the front wraps onto the spine means they’re pretty from every angle.

puffin-in-bloom

5. Puffin in Bloom. Pretty, pretty flowers.

puffin-chalk

6. Puffin Chalk Collection. Dark and bright at the same time.

new-leather-classics

7. Strand’s New Leather Classics. You can buy books by the foot. Because you always need more books…

victorian-era-books

8. Strand’s Victorian Era Books. Mostly because I have a soft spot for Victorian literature.

whites-fine-editions

9. White’s Fine Editions. Lovely, artsy covers.

word-cloud-classics

10. Word Cloud Classics. I love the soft covers, and the quotes stamped into them.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

20 responses »

  1. tiareleine says:

    I can’t decide which are my favorite! Maybe the Chalk Classics… or maybe the Victorian Era books… or maybe the Drop Caps. I don’t know, they’re all so pretty!

    Great list! 🙂

  2. beckmank says:

    I love all of these! I actually have one book on your list – Little Women in the Word Cloud Classics series. I think I saw it at Costco or something a few years ago and it was so pretty I had to pick it up. I didn’t realize there was a whole set of them available! Great post this week!

  3. Greg Hill says:

    I love all those Barnes & Noble editions, they look so nice on the shelf!

  4. Julia says:

    Wow the White’s Fine Editions are gorgeous! I’m so tempted to get the new Vintage Classic Russian Series, they’re so striking!

  5. I would LOVE to own the Puffin in Bloom and Penguin Drop Caps books – problem is I’m 100% sure I probably won’t read them, haha. It’ll be a waste since they’re quite pricey, but I like to fantasise about how they’d look on my shelves. 😀

  6. kellyfbarr says:

    Oooh! They’re all so pretty!

  7. wcs53 says:

    Most of these are great, but I especially like the Penguins.

  8. I don’t think we have B&N in europe 😦 their editions and the White’s Fine Editions are GORGEOUS!! Maybe I’ll pop over to america for a book buying spree 😂

  9. I have that beautiful Penguin Hardcover edition of Little Women. It’s one of the prettiest books on my bookshelf 🙂 Loved this post!

  10. I’m drooling over here. I actually got the Puffin in Bloom and the Bronte sisters set (Penguin Hardcover Classics) for Christmas! Looks like I need to start making my Christmas 2017 wish list 🙂

What are your thoughts?

