Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues flower border

January 31: All about the visuals: Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels/Comics or Ten Comics on My TBR or Top Ten Favorite Picture Books

Here’s my Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels/Comics.

giant daysgiant days 2

1. Giant Days; John Allison. A slice of life comic about three college roommates.

moon-called2

2. Moon Called; Patricia Briggs. Mercy Thompson, shape shifter coyote and part of a werewolf pack, gets her story in comic form.

girls-with-slingshots

3. Girls with Slingshots; Danielle Corsetto. A funny story about Hazel and her friends, with the occasional talking plant and ghost cat.

how-to-talk-to

4. How to Talk to Girls at Parties; Neil Gaiman. Weird and dreamy.

megatokyomegatokyo6

5. Megatokyo; Fred Gallagher. Two friends move to Tokyo, and it turns out all the monster movies are truer than they realized.

monstress

6. Monstress; Marjorie Liu. Dark but lovely–about people who look like monsters, and those that are monsters on the inside.

strong-female-protag

7. Strong Female Protagonist; Brennan Mulligan. A girl with superpowers abandons her cape and mask for a normal life.

nimona

8. Nimona; Noelle Stevenson. Nimona offers to be an assistant to a villain–and turns out to be hiding some impressive secrets.

sagasaga 3saga 4

9. Saga; Brian Vaughan. Science fiction epic, with many alien species struggling to survive a war–and a  pair of star-crossed lovers determined to do more than just survive.

lumberjanes

10. Lumberjanes; Shannon Watters. A camp for girls, full of zany magical adventures.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

10 responses »

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    So many good ones! Great TTT! I’m a big fan of Saga & Monstress 😃 I had no idea that there was a graphic novel based for Mercy Thompson, I’ve read all books except the last 2. Def checking this one out. Giant Days is on my TBR for February & i’m hoping to enjoy it as much as everyone else does 🤞🏼

  2. tiareleine says:

    I haven’t read many graphic novels, but I’ve started Saga and I’m really enjoying it so far. I think I may need to branch out and try a few more. I think Nimona might be the next one I try.

    Great list! 🙂

  3. Mari says:

    Saga and Monstress are absolutely lovely! I had to leave off of the graphic novels that were based on an original series, because then it would have been even HARDER to decide between them, haha. Moon Called would have probably made it otherwise.

  4. Resa says:

    Awesome list! Monstress looks really, really good. And Girls With Slingshots just looks like a lot of fun.

  5. Brandon says:

    I’m glad to see Saga up here. It’s the best book Image is doing, and has been for awhile now.

What are your thoughts?

