Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

February 21: Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would (recently or all time) — or you could do something like books I liked more/less than everyone else.

I’m going with recent reads, and splitting the list between more and less.

More

symphony-for-the-city-of-the-dead

1. Symphony for the City of the Dead; M.T. Anderson. A pretty dark, true subject often means I find a book good, but not enjoyable. This one held on to defiance in the face of tyranny, art in the face of war, and hope in times of need.

hag-seed

2. Hagseed; Margaret Atwood. Usually I won’t pick up a revenge story, but this is Atwood. I had to give it a try. Though there were some parts I disliked, overall I enjoyed it much more than I expected.

dead-things

3. Dead Things; Stephan Blackmoore. I had enough warnings that this was more than a bit grim that I was concerned going in. But I found I really enjoyed the book, especially the world building.

hold-still

4. Hold Still; Nina LaCour. This is a book about a girl who’s best friend committed suicide, and generally I don’t like the sad books. They have to be well written, and a bit hopeful to get past the tragedy for me, but this book managed.

shrill

5. Shrill; Lindy West. I picked this because of a review, but I have mixed results with memoirs of people I don’t know. She’s funny and insightful, and narrated the audiobook nicely, however.

Less

clown-service

6. The Clown Service; Guy Adams. Law enforcement (official or not) for supernatural beings and crimes makes a book I love, usually. This book was decent, but I didn’t really connect to it.

behold-the-dreamers

7. Behold the Dreamers; Imbolo Mbue. This is highly rated, and I was enjoying it until a character made a decision that rather ruined the rest of the story for me.

iceling

8. Iceling; Sasha Stephenson. This was a cool concept, and I enjoyed some of the characters, but I spent most of the book waiting for something to happen.

deep-down-dark

9. Deep Down Dark; Hector Tobar. The true story of 33 Chilean miners trapped for 69 days, I expected this to be riveting. Parts of it were, but the rest was confusing, with the names being difficult to keep track of, the book sorely lacking a map of the mine, and some sections rather rushed.

shadow-of-victory

10. Shadow of Victory; David Weber. I enjoy this world, but this book had too many characters I didn’t connect to, and not enough of the characters I do enjoy reading about.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

12 responses »

  1. Lilyn G says:

    I just picked up my first David Weber book. (Think it was the first in the Honor Harrington??) I’ll get around to reading it eventually, I swear!

    Our TTT

  2. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your liked less more. 😦 It’s always a bummer when this happens.
    My TTT.

  3. ReadingMaria says:

    Omg Hag-Seed! I’m glad it made your “more” list, because that book was amazing! 🙂

  4. Great picks for this week. I haven’t actually read any of these myself but I have some of Nina LaCour’s books on my TBR so I’m glad you enjoyed her book more than you thought you would. 🙂

  5. I enjoyed Hag-Seed as well. It was my first Atwood book, so I didn’t really know what to expect going in. I thought the way she did The Tempest retelling was very clever. There were some… odd…. parts of the book, but strangely it didn’t hinder my enjoyment. It was also fairly farfetched, but again I found that it didn’t bother me overmuch. I definitely don’t think it is going to be for everyone.

What are your thoughts?

