I flipped through a book of illustrated definitions and landed on this page, which I had to share.

bookish-words

Oniochalasia (noun, English) buying or shopping as a method of stress relief or relaxation.

This one I don’t really do so much. Certainly I’ll browse through a store if I have some free time, but I’m only tempted to buy if I find something that’s really me. But I know a lot of people do this. Retail therapy!

Tsundoku (noun, Japanese) buying books and not reading them; letting books pile up unread on shelves or floors or nightstands.

Now this one is definitely me. I am so easily tempted by pretty covers, intriguing blurbs, rave reviews, etc. When I go wandering through a bookstore, that’s when my retail therapy happens. I want to bring them all home with me. And I try not to let them pile up too tall, or for too long, but there are so many library books to read. And the library does want those books back, so I push my books to the bottom of the pile. Every once and awhile, I go on a book-getting spree–hit a few little free libraries, receive a box of books from a friend, or attend a book sale /fair.

It’s kind of nice to see them stacked up, though, isn’t it? Books are great decorations.

Bibliothecary (noun, English) one who collects, maintains, or cares for books.

I’d like to be one of these. More than just a book collector, the ability to repair lovely old books would be amazing. Anyone who makes their living by books in any capacity is pretty dang cool in my opinion.

What are your favorite bookish words?

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Love these! They actually all apply to me lol

    I have heard of Tsunduko before because I follow a blogger that has it in their blog name (Jackie @Death by Tsunduko).

What are your thoughts?

