I absolutely adored Gilmore Girls, so when I saw that Lauren Graham had written a book, I had to give it a shot. Since I’ve been trying to listen to more audio books, and I’ve found memoir types work best for me, that’s the format I got it in. It comes with an e-pub of the book, too, so you can see the pictures.

And I loved it, of course.

She covers a wide variety of moments from her life, looking back to the start of her career, meandering over friendships and relationships, shows and books, and even an excellent piece of writing advice she received on how to stay productive. In the beginning, she struggled, and then wasn’t quite sure that she’d “made it.” She talks about celebrity dieting, work, and her personal life with a sense of humor and fun that makes the while book enjoyable to listen to.

There is, of course, plenty about Gilmore Girls–the show, and then the four-part retrospective. She talks more about what it was like to do both than the episodes themselves, so it’s fairly spoiler free if you haven’t watched A Year in the Life. (As I haven’t. I need to fix that!) She mentions guest stars, the titles of the episodes, but that’s it. And even the guest stars are almost spoiler free, since she has a fondness for getting a minor role for everyone she knows, apparently.

A great read or listen for any fans of Lauren Graham’s work, and highly recommended for Gilmore Girl fans. While it’s more about her life than the show, there’s plenty of gems to keep fans happy.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

3 responses »

  1. I bought this book when it came out and have YET to read it. I am a HUGE GG fan. I’ve heard that this is an enjoyable read, but some felt that Graham plays it a little to safe and doesn’t reveal anything too juicy…. thoughts?

What are your thoughts?

