Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate.

April 18: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book (topic originally done back in 2013 as top ten words/topics that will make me instantly want to read a book) — so yeah basically any topic or theme or ANYTHING (ie if X person recommends it) that will make you instantly want to pick up a book. My list will likely be called Jamie-bait because there are soooo certain things you can say in a summary or a review that will just instantly draw me to it!

1. Diversity. When a book honestly and effortlessly includes different kinds of people, that’s just wonderful.

2. Detailed World Building. If a book comes with well-developed, evenly integrated world building, it always catches my eye.

3. Fairy-tale Retellings. Something the brothers Grimm collected, or more obscure folk tales–tell the story slant and I’ll read it.

4. Focused, Quirky Non-Fiction. It’s hard to describe what will catch my eye, but the strange little stories always do.

5. Gorgeous Covers. I do judge a book by its cover, what can I say?

6. Interesting Titles. Just like a pretty cover, a title can catch my eye, and I’ll read the book if I can.

7. Pride & Prejudice Retellings. I have a fondness for any classic retelling, but this particular story is one I adore especially.

8. Strong Female Protagonists. Not just a female lead, but one that doesn’t need rescue.

9. Unique Urban Fantasy. I can’t quite read all of it, but I will certainly check out any interesting sounding urban fantasy book.

10. Zombies. Most especially unusual zombie stories, but I love a good zombie story of any kind.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

13 responses »

  1. i love Strong Female Protagonists and great fairy tale retellings too. Great list!

  2. Covers and titles are initially what draws me to a book, too. I wish I would have thought to add them! Nice list!
    My TTT.

  3. Honestly and effortlessly. I love that phrasing. I’ve recently become a fan of urban fantasy. So far, my favorite is Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    • There’s a lot of really great urban fantasy out there. Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series, Seanan McGuire’s Toby Daye series, and Wen Spencer’s Elfhome series are some of my favorites. Haven’t read Shadowshaper. Happy reading to you, too! 🙂

  4. tiareleine says:

    A beautiful cover is on my list this week as well. I don’t think there’s anything wrong about judging a book by its cover a least a little bit, and I’m sure there isn’t a way to totally avoid doing it.

    Great list!

  5. I could not agree more about good world building (that’s on my list too https://travelinretrospect.wordpress.com/2017/04/18/top-ten-tuesday-the-things-that-make-me-read/)
    I think being able to construct a solid world, and create deep and interesting characters within it is the difference between me engaging with a book and putting it back on the shelf.

  6. I can relate to this list so much! I found myself nodding along to each of the things that make you want to read a book.

What are your thoughts?

