Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate.

June 27: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far (break it down however you want — by genre, strictly 2017 releases, whatever!)

To Goodreads I go! All of these I rated 5 stars.

1. White Hot; Ilona Andrews. Romance! Explosions! Cool powers!

2. A Man Called Ove; Frederik Backman. Touching story of an old man drawn unwillingly back into life.

3. Etched in Bone; Anne Bishop. The aftermath of a Other and human conflict, where the price of losing is decided.

4. Wolfskin; W.R. Gingell. A retelling of little red riding hood where Red is a lot more proactive, and it’s the wolf who needs saving.

5. Our Cats are More Famous than Us; Anath Hirsh, Yuko Ota. Cute biographical comic, with pet cats included.

6. Nevernight; Jay Kristoff. If you’re really determined, you can worship a deadly goddess and learn the arts of killing and vengeance–but few survive.

7. The Princess Saves Herself in this One; Amanda Lovelace. Spare, lovely verse about fighting your demons–and triumphing.

8. Strong Female Protagonist; Brennan Mulligan. Former superhero decides to fight a different sort of good fight.

9. Troubled Waters; Sharon Shinn. Neat system of deciding a child’s innate qualities, elemental magic, and political intrigue.

10. Strange the Dreamer; Laini Taylor. Librarian goes on an adventure to a city overshadowed by magic.

 

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

14 responses »

  1. tiareleine says:

    Strange the Dreamer is on my list this week as well! I’m so glad it lived up (pretty well) to the hype.

    Great list!

  2. The Princess Saves Herself always catches my eye. I need to read it!

  3. White Hot was SO GOOD. I just finished it and I’m still like, aaaahhh! I wish I could read it all over again for the first time. At least we don’t have to wait as long for Wildfire! I’m so ready ❤

  4. I’ve been meaning to look into Anne Bishop’s books! Nevernight was one of my favourite reads last year, too, so dark and unforgiving.

  5. Becky says:

    Nevernight and Strange the Dreamer are high up on my TBR! I need to read them asap

  6. Zezee says:

    So glad to see Strong Female Protagonist on here because it’s one I’d like to read but can never recall the name of.

  7. I also loved A Man Called Ove this year! I know it will end up being one of my faves of 2017. Strange the Dreamer is on my TBR for July, so fingers crossed that I love it as much as you 🙂

What are your thoughts?

