Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists by other bloggers!

August 22: Back To School Freebie: anything “back to school” related like 10 favorite books I read in school, books I think should be required reading, Required Reading For All Fantasy Fans, required reading for every college freshman, Books to Pair With Classics or Books To Complement A History Lesson, books that would be on my classroom shelf if I were a teacher, etc.

So many choices! I’m going to go with Top Ten Recommended Reads for College Freshmen.

1. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda; Becky Albertalli. First and last, every student should read diversely. But it can be fun diversity.

2. The Handmaid’s Tale; Margaret Atwood. Maybe some day this book won’t feel quite so relevant. But not soon.

3. Pride & Prejudice; Jane Austen. If they haven’t read this book, it’s a pretty important cultural touchstone for a lot of people–something to make friends with!

4. The Naked Roommate; Harlan Cohen. Some sort of guide that gives a good idea of the sort of problems people just don’t think of until they have to face them is a must.

5. The Life Changing Magic of not Giving a F*ck; Sarah Knight. Most people have to learn how to say no to the time wastes–and need to study and sleep sometime!

6. The Art of Happiness; Dali Lama XIV. Incoming freshmen should read a book on a religion other than theirs. Religious texts included.

7. Animal Farm; George Orwell. Another book they might not have run into before, but that can help make an argument. Or help them sound smart!

8. The Hate U Give; Angie Thomas. Diversity is important enough that I think everyone needs at least two samples of YA for easy reading.

9. Eat That Frog!; Brian Tracy. A lot of college students suffer from suddenly not having someone constantly reminding them of deadlines. It’s easy to crash and burn without some time management skills.

10. Just Mercy; Brian Stevenson. Every college student should read at least a nonfiction book from a racial/cultural group not their own. Get a little perspective.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

14 responses »

  1. I still need to read the handmaids tale 🙈

  2. FranL says:

    I like your thinking- you seem to have something for everyone on there!
    My TTT https://franlaniado.wordpress.com/2017/08/22/top-ten-tuesday-back-to-school-freebie/

  3. I really want to read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens. I recently read an excerpt and was upset when it came to an end. I bought The Hate U Give recently because of all the positive feedback.

    I will have to say – didn’t really enjoy The Handmaid’s Tale. Have you watched the HULU series? If so, what do you think?

  4. I’ve been wanting to read The Handmaid’s Tale for ages, it sounds really interesting!

  5. These are some great ideas! I’ve been curious about The Art of Happiness for a while but haven’t read it yet. Great list!

  6. Claire says:

    Quite a few of these are on my TBR at the moment! It’s sad how relevant The Handmaid’s Tale is, but definitely important to read. I just need to wait for it to arrive from the library!

What are your thoughts?

