*****My city is getting about 6 inches of rain Sunday, and flooding is expected, but I’ll hope for the best, power-wise. Stay safe if you’re in Harvey’s path!*****

This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is a WIP, NaNoWriMo 2016, currently called River, Tree, Mountain. It’s science fiction, set on a colony planet, six generations in–with about 10% of the population born “marvels,” who have special abilities like dowsing, healing, or creating fire. The protagonist, Rekka, is a spark (fire), signed a contract with Brenton to provide him a child, moves in with him, and several weeks later, she overhears part of an angry phone conversation before he shuts the door–and goes to the park to paint, where she meets a pink-haired man and does his portrait.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

 

“Huh, that’s really good–I can see me in it,” he said.

“Glad to hear it,” Rekka picked up a pen and signed and dated the picture at the bottom, then started stowing things away while she waited for the painting to dry.

“What’s your name?” she asked.

“Everyone calls me L–just the letter.”

Rekka snapped a picture of the portrait with her phone, titled it “L by the fountain,” and, after testing to see if the paint was completely dry, slid the painting into a sleeve, and handed it to L. “There you are. If you want to display it, it should go behind plexi, either with a UV filter, or out of direct sunlight.”

“I… thanks.”

“I like doing faces, and I’ve done this as a job a time or two, out in parks and such. I need to be getting back, but it was nice to meet you, L.”

*    *    *

Life on the colony planet of Kaibou was going uneventfully until the second generation of colonists was born on the planet, at some, at a young age, began showing various psychic abilities. When those people, called marvels, grew up, many of them formed companies, building compounds to live in and raise their children.  Due to population diversity issues, many colonists have children using genetic bank material, or choose a succession of partners. Now on the seventh generation, marvels are born both within and without company walls, and all must work together to use their gifts and make a living on a still wild land. Some of these outsider marvels sign contracts with company marvels, agreeing to give them a child raised within the company, in return for a permanent home in the company compound, a stipend, and other concessions.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

26 responses »

  1. Hmm…questions. 🙂 This makes me wonder if his name being just one letter has something to do with the class of people he was born to or he lives among. Or if the color of his hair has something to do with only one letter. Intriguing, Caitlin!

    • He’s a man of mystery. 😉
      His hair just means some ancestor of his gave their kid pink hair. There’s extensive genetic modification going on in a lot of the space stations, especially.

  2. Just wonderful, Caitlin. Every moment, the art work and conversation.

  3. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    You reveal a lot about Rekka in this snippet, yet still leave me so curious about L and his purpose in the story. 🙂

  4. I wonder why just “L”- maybe she’s ashamed of her actual name? Stay safe from any potential flooding!

  5. The letter as a name intrigues me. Great snippet! I look forward to reading more.

  6. Wonder if they’ll meet again! 😉

  7. Diane Burton says:

    I like his interest in her. I, too, hope they meet again.

  8. Will be interesting to see if this pleasant interlude leads to something else later in the plot. Intriguing. Enjoyed the snippet!

  9. sounds like it was a nice change of pace for her. I hope she can find more time for it in future.

  10. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I almost feel as though he’s using the letter to preserve his anonymity.

  11. Ed Hoornaert says:

    This was a pleasant encounter, and I’m sure it will turn out to be very significant. And keep your toes dry, Caitlin!

  12. Hywela Lyn says:

    Such an intriguing snippet, and I hope you and yours stay safe and Harvey doesn’t cause you too much trouble!

  13. Carrie-Anne says:

    I like reading about her creation and finishing process, and the fact that she gives him instructions for taking care of the artwork.

    I hope you stay safe from the hurricane!

What are your thoughts?

