*****The edge of the storm has passed my city. Very little damage, keeping the coast in my thoughts.*****

This 8-10 sentence blog hop is hosted by The Weekend Writing Warriors. (Click the link for the list of participants, or rules if you want to join!)

This is a WIP, NaNoWriMo 2016, currently called River, Tree, Mountain. It’s science fiction, set on a colony planet, six generations in–with about 10% of the population born “marvels,” who have special abilities like dowsing, healing, or creating fire. The protagonist, Rekka, is a spark (fire), signed a contract with Brenton to provide him a child, moves in with him, and more than a year later, is outside painting.

weekend_writing_warriorsveteransbadge

 

 

 

“Hey!” a male voice came from behind Rekka.

She swiveled, glancing behind her, and saw a broad-shouldered figure approaching, features washed out by the sun. As he drew closer, she recognized the wavy pink hair falling just short of the man’s violet eyes, his skin tanned a darker shade of brown than when she’d seen him last.

When he stopped a few feet from her stone perch, she smiled, “Hello, L. It’s been awhile–a year, I think.”

“Yeah, about that, but you still remember my name.” His tone was sheepish, and he ran his fingers through his hair, his gaze on the ground before he made eye contact.

“I have the advantage of writing your name down,” Rekka uncoiled from her seat, shifting to face him more comfortably, her legs swinging in the air,  “Mine’s Rekka.”

“Well, Rekka, I have, in fact…” he paused, rummaging in the backpack thrown over his shoulder, “something to make up for…” he took a few wrapped bundles out of the backpack, pinning them awkwardly between his arm and his body while he kept searching.

*    *    *

Life on the colony planet of Kaibou was going uneventfully until the second generation of colonists was born on the planet, at some, at a young age, began showing various psychic abilities. When those people, called marvels, grew up, many of them formed companies, building compounds to live in and raise their children.  Due to population diversity issues, many colonists have children using genetic bank material, or choose a succession of partners. Now on the seventh generation, marvels are born both within and without company walls, and all must work together to use their gifts and make a living on a still wild land. Some of these outsider marvels sign contracts with company marvels, agreeing to give them a child raised within the company, in return for a permanent home in the company compound, a stipend, and other concessions.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

26 responses »

  1. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    I’m curious to know what he has to give her. 🙂 Great snippet. Makes me want to know more.

  2. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Oh, a year has passed? I wonder what’s happened since that day in the park, and what L is giving her.

  3. Interesting they have anther encounter a year later! Enjoyed the snippet and am wondering what he has for her…

  4. I missed the year but sense romance in the air. Did she have a baby with the other guy?

  5. ooh, what has he brought? So curious.

  6. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I’m a little worried about what he’s about to pull out. Something good, I hope.

  7. Alexis Duran says:

    Whatever he has for her, I think it’s about to complicate her life.

  8. nancygideon says:

    A year? Hope you fill in the blanks with whatever he has to give her.

  9. Hywela Lyn says:

    How intriguing – I too am wondering about those two packages! Great job of heightening the suspense!

  10. Diane Burton says:

    How interesting that he’s taken a year to return. I wonder why. And what is he bringing her? All kinds of questions. Must read more.

  11. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    I do the same thing with my pocketbook when I’m looking for my phone or my business card.

  12. Carrie-Anne says:

    I wonder if he’s going to pay her for having painted him. Or perhaps they have another past connection.

  13. Wonderful details, Caitlin, like this one: ” …he took a few wrapped bundles out of the backpack, pinning them awkwardly between his arm and his body while he kept searching.” It really brings the scene to life. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

