Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists by other bloggers!

September 12: Throwback Freebie: Ten Books I Loved During The First Year I Started My Blog, Favorite Books Published 5 or 10 or 15 Years Ago, Ten Older Books I Forgot How Much I Loved, etc. etc. Tweak however you want!

Let’s throw it waaay back, shall we? Top Ten Books from the 19th Century.

  1. Persuasion; Jane Austen. My second favorite Austen, for variety.

2. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland; Lewis Carol. A trip.

3. Oliver Twist; Charles Dickens. Can you have some more?

4. The Three Musketeers; Alexandre Dumas. Every book needs some sword fights.

5. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes; Arthur Conan Doyle. Witty and short. Holmes is kind of terrible, but still entertaining.

6. Frankenstein; Mary Shelley. We’re all a little bit the monster, I think.

7. Treasure Island; Robert Lois Stevenson. Pirates! Arrr!

8. Dracula; Bram Stoker. You rather have to admire this old school vampire story. It’s creepy and gothic, and monstrous.

9. Around the World in Eighty Days; Jules Verne. Packed full of adventure.

10. The Picture of Dorian Gray; Oscar Wilde. A really terrible character that gets what’s coming to him.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

26 responses »

  1. I’m happy that I can say I at least read one of these! (Persuasion). I’m not really into classics, so that big for me! 🙂 Great list.

  2. Great list of classics. I loved Persuasion and Frankenstein. Those are probably my favorites on your list! 🙂

  3. FranL says:

    Great choices. It’s amazing- I liked most of the books on your list a lot, but if I were to list my 19th century faves it would look very different. It was an amazing century for literature!

    My TTT is a teenage throwback https://franlaniado.wordpress.com/2017/09/12/top-ten-tuesday-teenage-throwback/

  4. Great list of nineteenth-century classics! I agree with you about Frankenstein’s monster, and Dorian Gray. I really need to (finally) read The Three Musketeers…

  5. Persuasion and Frankenstein are some of my favorite books ever!

  6. Persuasion is my second favorite Austen book as well!

  7. Great list. I haven’t read a single one of these, classics just aren’t my thing, thought I do want to read Dracula and Frankenstein at some point.

  8. Love your list of classics! I’ve only read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland but I’m gonna pick up The Picture of Dorian Gray soon!

  9. Shaz says:

    Cool classics on this list! I loved the Hound of the Baskervilles and I need to read The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. Out of curiosity, which is your first favourite Austen?

  10. I feel like I’m the only one who hates classics lol

  11. Oh wow this really is a throwback theme! 😀 I think of all the TTT posts I’ve seen so far you’ve gone back the most in terms of years.
    The only one of these I’ve read is Alice in Wonderland, which is probably my favourite classic and the only one I would re-read, and The Picture of Dorian Gray because I saw the movie and wanted to see how the book compared.
    Great picks for this week. 🙂

  12. lorryn says:

    I am so behind in classics. I have sadly not read any of these yet.

What are your thoughts?

