Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists by other bloggers!

October 31: Halloween Freebie! (Happy Halloween! Let your creativity run wild with a themed post to celebrate!)

Here’s my Top Ten Magical Books for Halloween. ‘Tis the season for some witches and wizards, spells and curses!

1.Storm Front; Jim Butcher. Wizard with plenty of magic, but less common sense.

2. The Witches; Roald Dahl. Classic children’s magic.

3. Coraline; Neil Gaiman. You need a little spooky for the season. Not all magic is nice…

4. A Discovery of Witches; Deborah Harkness. How about some magical research?

5. Johannes Cabal: Necromancer; Jonathan L Howard. Raising the dead is… not advised.

6. Summon the Keeper; Tanya Huff. Every Halloween needs a cat, and maybe a few portals to Hell.

7. Wyrd Sisters; Terry Pratchett. Not just about witches, but also with some Shakespeare references.

8. The Picture of Dorian Gray; Oscar Wilde. Magic comes with a price.

9. The Golem and the Jinni; Helene Wecker. Two magical creatures meet.

10. Mairelon the Magician; Patricia Wrede. A traveling magician who isn’t what he seems.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

8 responses »

  1. There’s way more books about witches than I remember! I like your choices!

  2. FranL says:

    Love this list. I discovered the Dresden Files last year and I’m hooked. I’m on the 6th one now.

    The Witches also made my list.

    Coraline is one of those “children’s” books that would have traumatized me for life if I’d read it as a child I think!

    I really liked The Golem and the Jinni.

    Discovery of Witches has been on my TBR for way too long. I have to get to it soon!

    My TTT https://franlaniado.wordpress.com/2017/10/31/top-ten-tuesday-halloween-freebie/

    • Yeah, I’ve heard Gaiman talk about it–his publisher wasn’t sure it was a children’s book, either!
      I have some books that have been on my TBR for *cough* years. You can never catch up!

      • FranL says:

        I know the feeling. The whole problem is that new books keep coming out, so I never have time to get to the old ones. Or I read some of the old ones and new ones quickly replace them….

  3. Marcia says:

    Great list! Of course, you know how I feel about The Dresden Files–my favorite urban fantasy series of all time! (My cat, Harry, agrees. 😀 ) And I’ve actually read several others on this list.

    I adore all of Pratchett’s work, especially the Wee Free Men, and the Wyrd Sisters was a great read. And I devoured the entire Johannes Cabal series (after learning about it from you). I want MORE, and keep longing for another installment. After all, we did leave them hinting about moving forward. Truly, a wonderful, weird, scary, and hilariously funny series!

    I also read A Discovery of Witches, which I thought quite good, if a bit slow in places. I read Dorian Gray at least 50 years ago, and it still sticks with me. I should probably read it again. And of course, anything by Neil Gaiman is pure gold.

    Did I mention this was a great list? But still, hands down, Harry Dresden wins my heart over all else, and if Jim Butcher doesn’t get ON WITH IT soon, I won’t be responsible for my actions. It’s been over THREE YEARS now!!! And I’m not getting any younger, here.(Ooops. Was I yelling? Sorry.) 😀

What are your thoughts?

