Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists by other bloggers!

November 7: Ten Characters Who Would Make Great Leaders (Leaders of what? That’s your decision. Who could lead a country, an army, a book club, a classroom, etc. Or maybe characters that would be trendsetters?)

Here’s Top Ten Characters Who Would Make Great Leaders in an Apocalypse.

1.Jess Brightwell. Magic, and a ruthless ability to lie to get things done. Not a restful leader, but an effective one.

2. Beka Cooper. She’s tough, determined, smart, and athletic. And used to dealing with criminals, which would possibly be a thing at the end of the world.

3. Hitomi. Another athletic one, loyal, and she has magic. All helpful leadership skills.

4. Jeff & Hotaru. For different reasons, but both characters keep it together during a zombie apocalypse. Not easy.

5. Liv. She has the rare ability to make two opposite sides work together… mostly.

6. Nimona. So, she’s a monster, but she’s also very goal-oriented.

7. Hercule Poirot. He’s comfortable with taking charge without being domineering, and would be good a getting a disparate group to work together.

8. Nilanjana Sikdar. A scientist who keeps her cool, gathers evidence, and figures out how to solve problems.

9. Susan Sto Helit. I’ve talked about her before, but she’s a favorite of mine. Death’s granddaughter knows how to seize control, and apply a wrench where useful.

10. Xian Li-lin. In some apocalypse scenarios, having the ability to deal with ghosts would be really useful.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

11 responses »

  1. allymemes says:

    I totally agree about Beka! I had Clary on my list, but I think either of them would be great leaders!

  2. Marcia says:

    I could have sworn I commented on this earlier. (Too much going on for my little brain to keep up, anymore.) I’m with you 100% on Jess Brightwell, one of my favorite characters in one of my very favorite series. The rest, I’m completely ignorant of, even Susan Sto Helit. Guess I better get back to my Pratchett. Anything by Sir Terry is wonderful, and I’ve been meaning to finish working my way through the books for some time. This is a good reason to do so.

    The others, I’ll check out as I can. (Can’t read the title on the Beka Cooper book.) Thanks for another great list!

    • Susan is one of my favorite Discworld characters, but there are a LOT of books to get through.
      The Beka Cooper book is Terrier. It’s part of a trilogy.

      • Marcia says:

        I found it on Amazon by using her name, and I’ve already added it to my list. It sounds good! And I’m going through my Pratchett books tonight to see where I left off. I could SO use some of his humor. I’m getting ready to email you about some other books I’m curious if you’ve read. 🙂

  3. FranL says:

    Great twist on the topic! I’ve never thought about it before, but if I were in an apocalyptic scenario, I’d definitely want Poirot around!
    My TTT https://franlaniado.wordpress.com/2017/11/07/top-ten-tuesday-10-literary-leaders/

  4. Yes, Nimona was awesome! Very good at knowing her mind and what she wanted to do next. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

