Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesbookcase

February 16: This week is all about music & books. We previously did books we’d give theme songs to so feel free to do that! Or 10 songs I wish that were books.

Those are both interesting, so I want it all! 🙂

Top Five Books I’d Give Theme Songs

hitchhiker's guide

1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; Douglas Adams. The opening song on the more recent movie made me smile–this book needs a funny, bouncy theme song. I think the Barenaked Ladies could come up with a good one.

breakout

2. Breakout; Ann Aguirre. This one needs something like Thin Lizzy’s “Jailbreak.”

six of crows

3. Six of Crows; Leigh Bardugo. This should be something instrumental, with crashing cords in some places, and soft and sneaky in others.

stainless sr

4. The Stainless Steel Rat; Harry Harrison. The Smashing Pumpkins “Bullet With Butterfly Wings” is appropriate for a variety of reasons.

winter

5. Winter; Marissa Meyer. We need a song out there with lyrics about cyborg cinderellas, genetically altered wolf soldiers, and rapunzels locked in a satellite, don’t we?

Top Five Songs I Wish Were Books

6. “The Devil Went Down to Georgia;” Charlie Daniels Band. It’s already a story, so it’d make a book easily enough, I think.

7. “If I had a Million Dollars;” Barenaked Ladies. This would make a goofy romance story, where a character suddenly wins a million dollars and tries to buy someone’s love with an ottoman.

8. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds; The Beatles. It’d be trippy, for sure.

9. “O Fortuna” is a complaint against the cruelties of fate–which more than one book has been about. And all that instrumental excitement should translate to plenty of conflict!

10. “Shake It Off;” Taylor Swift. I picture this being one of those stories with a zany protagonist, funny, with a little romance–probably a mystery.

 

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

19 responses »

  1. Bookenstein says:

    Nice combination of these two topics. I would definitely be down with reading a book based off of “If I Had a Million Dollars.” It just seems like it would be such a lighthearted and fun novel.

  2. Marcia says:

    Cool ideas, Caitlin! I’m particularly drawn to a book based on The Devil Went Down to Georgia. (A long ago favorite of mine that I still like.)

  3. I agree with Marcia. The Devil Went Down to Georgia would make a great book. My TTT.

  4. tiareleine says:

    Its cool seeing all the different ways people took this topic. I couldn’t entirely narrow it down to just one interpretation either (my two categories were song I want to read books based on and songs that are based on books).

    I love your description of what a Shake It Off based book would be.

    • That’s part of the fun of TTT, the many ways you can spin a prompt!
      I did some music video research for this post, and “Shake It Off” was goofier than I expected–I approve.

  5. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Re: Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. It sort of is a book, and yes, the book is trippy. “According to both Lennon and McCartney, the lyrics were largely derived from the literary style of Alice In Wonderland.” – Wikipedia.

  6. Oo! ‘Devil Went Down to Georgia’ would definitely make for an interesting book. ^.^ Do we get some snazzy violin solos in it, too?

  7. @lynnsbooks says:

    Definitely yes to The Devil Went Down to Georgia!
    Lynn 😀

  8. The Devil Went Down To Georgia made my list, too! 🙂

    Check out my TTT and my current giveaway.

  9. Oh WINTER! What a song that would be 🙂 And a Taylor Swift song inspired book would be fun! Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier 🙂

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.