Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

March 29: 10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads (Or Ten Of The Best Books I’ve Read Recently if you don’t 5 star stuff…or you could do 5 of my latest five star reads & five of my most disappointing or 1 star reads)

Recent 5 Stars

marked in flesh

1. Marked in Flesh; Anne Bishop. Part of a series. This is the book where the humans who’ve been trying to take land from the Others (vampires, shifters, elementals, etc.) reap what they’ve sown.

fire touched

2. Fire Touched; Patricia Briggs. I love Mercy! Werewolves (and one shape-shifting coyote) fighting the fay monsters.

lucky penny2

3. Lucky Penny; Annath Hirsch & Yuko Ota. A story about finding yourself, and the meaning of luck.

jane steele

4. Jane Steele; Lyndsay Faye. If Jane Eyre was willing to commit a little murder to improve her life.

sorcerer_front mech.indd

5. Sorcerer to the Crown; Zen Cho. The start of a fascinating world, with some high-cost magic.

Recent 2- Stars (1 stars almost never happen)

gourmet rhapsody

1. Gourmet Rhapsody; Muriel Barbery. I liked the characters of the first book, but this book… nope.

narrator

2. The Narrator; Michael Cisco. A ‘just couldn’t connect’ book.

eisenberg constant

3. The Eisenberg Constant; Eugene Egner. A weird short story about a time loop that I couldn’t follow.

last days of magic

4. The Last Days of Magic; Mark Thomkins. What can I say? Kinda depressing.

consider the lobster

5. Consider the Lobster; David Foster Wallace. Interesting topics somehow made uninteresting by the writing.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

17 responses »

  1. tiareleine says:

    Yours is the first list I’ve seen that uses both sides of the prompt. I think it’s just as interesting to see what people didn’t like as what they did!

    I haven’t read any of these, but I might have to check out Lucky Penny. It seems really interesting!

    Great list! 🙂

  2. Evie says:

    oooh! I need to read Sorcerer to the Crown– I’ve heard such good things!

  3. I haven’t read any of these, but I’ve heard of a few. I really like the cover of The Narrator, too bad you didn’t like it!

  4. beckmank says:

    Love how you split your list! That Jane Steele book looks fantastic – I love the cover!

  5. I’m so glad you liked Jane Steele, I’m looking forward to reading it soon!

  6. Carrianne says:

    I haven’t heard of any of these. I like it! I love discovering new books. 😀

  7. I like the idea of splitting your list this week. I’m the same I don’t tend to rate books one star, but there haven’t actually been that many I haven’t liked recently. I really enjoy all of Patricia Briggs books, she’s an amazing author.

  8. Nicole says:

    The cover for Lucky Penny looked interesting and reading your summary and the Goodreads summary, it seems like a great read. Thank you for sharing! I’ve added it to my TBR 😀

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.