Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of bloggers who participate!

top ten tues purple flowers

July 26: Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them (inspired by my post wayyy back in 2012 that I did on a TTT freebie week and have so wanting to revisit. *hides because of the hideous graphics…I was just learning*)

city bakers

1. Baking. The carefully crafted sweet treats is some books make me wish baking wasn’t such a demanding science.

crochet

2. Crochet. I’ve mentioned before I don’t think I have the skill for crochet, but I do have a longing for mermaid tail blankets, cozy sweaters, and finger-less gloves.

cooking

3. Fancy Feasts. When a book has a table laden with delicious food, it makes the usual main dish and a couple of sides seem lacking.

wild

4. Hiking. Not a quick day walk, but the serious trails that people camp along. The stories involving them are a mix of terrifying and amazing.

golden tulip

5. Painting. I dabble, but sometimes I see a work of art, something moving and breathtaking and think–that, I wish I could do that, too.

sailing

6. Sailing. I’ve been on a sail boat a time or two, and it’s fairly complicated (watch for the boom) but exhilarating when it works right.

scrapbooking

7. Scrap-booking. I could probably manage this, skill-wise, but then where do the books go? I’m not sacrificing shelf space for them!

translator

8. Speaking other languages. Years of Spanish, and I forgot nearly all of it. I really admire people who can speak several languages fluently, though.

quilt

9. Quilting. A well made quilt is a puzzle of cloth scraps, forming a lovely pattern. I don’t have any patience for puzzles, either!

sew

10. Sewing. There are enough stores out there that you can get pretty much whatever you like, but sometimes when a character whips up an outfit I wish I wasn’t so dangerous with a needle.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

23 responses »

  1. You are so right on the scrapbooking thing. I scarpbooked for a few years. I now am about 3 years behind and have no place to store the albums anyways!

    My TTT: http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/07/26/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-things-books-have-made-me-want-to-do-or-learn-about-after-reading-them/

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Whew, Caitlin, I’m glad that all these murder mysteries didn’t inspire you to kill someone.

  3. Random Reads says:

    You read lots of books that involve learning 🙂

  4. @lynnsbooks says:

    Great list – I absolutely can’t bake although I love to cook. Baking is too precise – I suppose you can experiment a little bit but all the weighing and measuring I find tedious! I prefer to make things up out of my leftovers and see what the results are like.
    Lynn 😀

  5. tiareleine says:

    I wish hiking was a fun in real life as it is for book characters. All I can ever think about when I hike is how gross sunscreen feels and how I wish I could be going back downhill already, haha.

    Great list! 🙂

  6. Evie says:

    Oh! Wild is a good one. I wanted to hike after reading that book, too. But I dispelled of that notion quickly. Happy Tuesday! 🙂

  7. This one post includes so many talents I only wish I had. I’ve tried to crochet and cook and both turned out mediocre. I applaud you on your talent. I will just sit over here in the corner and read…

  8. Mari says:

    Crocheting is definitely on my list of things to learn one day, though I’ve been busy enough with knitting that it may have to be in the distant future. And mmm learning to bake certainly lends itself to lots of yummy rewards. Or, well, lots of experimentation in my case.

    • There’s so much counting in knitting. Crocheting *looks* easier, though I could be terribly mistaken.
      It’s very important to taste test your baked goods. 🙂

  9. This is a great list of things to learn! I love baking, and I am currently learning a language but it wasn’t really a book that inspired me towards either.
    I tried crochet a while back and I just could not get the hang of it, I hope it works out better for you, with crochet and all the other things you want to learn! 😀

  10. You have a lot of great ideas here. I like that it’s mostly hobbies that anyone could take up at any time. I dabble with painting, too, but my skills definitely need practice. And I would like to make a quilt one day!

    • I thought about superpowers, but I decided not to put them on the list. 🙂
      I saw this adorable pattern for one with cat faces that I want so much… But quilting is probably not something I’ll ever learn. I cross-stitch badly, and that’s about my skill level.

      • Superpowers would be really fun, though.

        There are a lot of fun patterns for them. I’ve tried cross-stitching this past year. My skill level is probably about the same. I haven’t even completed any projects yet. Considering how large quilts are, I don’t think I’ll be trying my hand at it any time soon.

What are your thoughts?

