Even though I usually can’t check out books, I like to visit libraries when I travel. This weekend I was in Rockport, and I found a rather unassuming building with a treasure inside. They had a full wall of shelves for a book drive! Imagine that!

There’s a lovely reading room, with a wall treatment that echoes the beach outside, and has plenty of comfy chairs.

Here’s the sale wall, with a small bookshelf of newer, more expensive books outside the room as well. These were one sale for a quarter, and how can you pass that up?

I spotted this nautical decoration on to top of one the shelves.

There’s a list of rules for using the typewriter, so it must get some use. One includes that you can share it with someone, as long as you talk quietly. And for a pretty reasonable 25 cents a page!

I was tempted to get a library card mostly for the heck of it, since I come here once a year, but resisted, since I was leaving that day anyway. Do any of you have vacation libraries? Maybe next year.

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

One response »

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Hey Caitlin! Have you ever been to the Library of Congress in Washington, DC? I got to make a brief stop there this week and it is something to see.

What are your thoughts?

