I had another weird dream where I was pulling up the stakes to a tent. They came up easily, like tugging on loose string, and the tent collapsed on top of someone, who was swearing and thrashing at the fabric. Laughing, I did the same to a larger tent (much larger, like a circus big top–and multiple stories, somehow). It began to collapse–and people started screaming, so I swore and stopped. Then I was shifting rubble, looking for bodies. In the dream, I was upset and confused at the mayhem–it hadn’t been my intent or seemed possible, even in dream logic.

No idea what, if anything, such a dream means, but I took a stab at a translation.

*     *     *     *

Pulling up Stakes

Steel spikes hammered in

grounding

fabric of dreams

and captured moonlight

Pull up the stakes

and dream-fabric

is buoyed on currents of air

and carried

far away

like a child’s lost balloon–

or a magic carpet ride

The only way to know

whether loss follows or gain

is to let go

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

What are your thoughts?

