Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

top ten tues sunset2

December 9: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

goblin emperor

1. Katherine Addison. The Goblin Emperor. I found this book in a bookstore, and the building crown caught my eye. I loved the character development, and wish there were more of this world.

emperor edgeflash goldencrypted

2. Lindsay Buroker. Emperor’s Edge, Flash Gold, Encrypted. This author cleverly snared me with a free book one of a series, and I’ve now read several books from the ongoing series, and completed the two-book series, and will absolutely be buying the rest of them.

girl with gifts

3. M.R. Carey. The Girl with all the Gifts. This one is a bit of a cheat–maybe–I read the short story this is written from…somewhere. Not certain when. But when I saw it became a book, I had to read it, and wasn’t disappointed. It gets so much weirder with more pages.

golden cityseat of magic

4. J. Kathleen Cheney. The Golden City, The Seat of Magic. This one caught my eye in a bookstore, too, and I found the world-building and several magical sea-species intriguing.

something real

5. Heather Demetrios. Something Real. Found this book off a book blog, I believe. The idea of seeing a reality tv kid’s life from their POV caught my attention, because you always wonder how much is “real.”

interrogation ashala

6. Ambelin Kwaymullina. The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf. Found off another blog, and I didn’t see how it could possibly end well, but the review was so demanding I had to give it a shot. I’m glad I did.

girl translationmambo in chinatown

7. Jean Kwok. Girl in Translation, Mambo in Chinatown. I won an e-Arc of Mambo, and it was heart-breaking, and wonderful, about family and expectations and success in the face of adversity, so I immediately went hunting for another book.

the bees

8. Laline Paull. The Bees. I saw this book multiple places, all assuring me it was about bees–but really interesting. And they were right. These are very human bees, with feelings, religion, culture, etc.–but all of them convincingly alien as well as familiar.

throne of glasscrown of midnight

9. Sarah J. Maas. Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight. Another book series that was suddenly everywhere. Book one had its ups and downs, but book two won me over.

the martian

10. Andy Weir. The Martian. I won an e-ARC of this, and it is darkly funny in a way that reminds me of Kurt Vonnegut or Christopher Moore. It’s not for everyone, but it makes me snicker in that ‘you’re terrible for laughing’ kind of way.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

12 responses »

  1. I have been wanting to read The Girl with all the Gifts. My boss currently has my library’s copy checked out, so I haven’t gotten to it yet, but I’ve heard good things. Same with Sarah J. Maas.
    My TTT!

  2. Precious @ Clockwork Desires says:

    I need to read Throne of Glass and The Girl With All the Gifts ASAP! It’s just so hard when you’re surrounded by so many other books…

    My TTT: https://clockworkdesires.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/top-ten-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2014/

  3. mrshbookworm says:

    There’s a few on here that I haven’t heard of before but I now will be trying to find out more about. The Bees sounds very interesting in particular.

  4. moosha23 says:

    Oh my! I really want to read The Martian! The Bees was very interesting for a read – very unique, y’know?

  5. I also became acquainted with Lindsay Buroker’s writing earlier this year too when I read Flash Gold. It wasn’t my thing. Here’s my TTT list for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2014/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-new-to-me.html

    • caitlinstern says:

      Everything I’ve read is a bit fluffy, but I like the Emperor’s Edge series better than Flash Gold. The cast of characters is bigger, and better developed–of course, it has eight books, so there’s space to do so.

What are your thoughts?

