Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

toptentuesday2

February 23:  Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of your comfort zone)

My comfort zone is fairly varied, so most of these are shades of atypical.

year without pants

1. The Year Without Pants; Scott Berkun. Another memoir slightly outside my usual–the tech world, though it’s about WordPress, so it is writing related, too. Still an interesting behind-the-scenes peek.

whites

2. The Whites; Harry Brandt. This was an audio-book, which I rarely listen to–they’re useful for long car rides, etc., but so slow. This one made me sad to turn the car off in a few high-tension spots!

youre never weird

3. You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost); Felicia Day. I do read memoirs, but not generally about internet celebrities who I’m only tangentially aware of. Go Dr. Horrible!

only child

4. The Only Child; Guojing. Generally I only go as low as YA, because the younger the audience, the quicker I burn through a book. But I make exception for the truly interesting looking ones.

what if

5. What If?; Randall Munroe. A bunch of really random scenarios, questions asked by various people. A lot more scientific than I generally read, but the effort put into the math is admirably.

baking cakes

6. Baking Cakes in Kigali; Gail Parkin. Generally speaking, when I read a book that addresses serious subjects, I want one that doesn’t gloss over them as this book does. It did capture a place pretty well, though.

humans of new york

7. Humans of New York; Brandon Stanton. I like following the site, but reading a random collection of strangers stories isn’t my usual thing. Like the site, there are some fascinating stories–tragedies and triumphs, though it works better is small pieces.

brave enough

8. Brave Enough; Cheryl Strayed. A collection of quotes (which aren’t my usual fare) by the author of Wild, which I read and enjoyed. Just like in her longer work, there are some thoughts that stay with you.

smarter than

9. Smarter Than You Think; Clive Thompson. A discussion about how technology has affected our brains isn’t the kind of book I’d usually pick up. But they way the brain works is always fasciantingly complex, if a little murky.

finest hours

10. The Finest Hours; Michael Tougias & Casey Sherman. Though I do read books because they’re about to be a movie, I wouldn’t usually bother with a true account of a sea rescue, being less fond of the many ways nature can try to kill us. It was an impressive undertaking, though.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

11 responses »

  1. Smarter Than You Think does look interesting!

  2. tiareleine says:

    It’s really interesting to see the books that people are willing to read out of their comfort zone for.

    Great list!

    • This list gave me difficulties, because I’ll read pretty much anything–and the stuff that’s really out of my comfort zone, I generally don’t like. But it’s always fun to put together a TTT.

  3. I haven’t read any of these, but some of them look fascinating!

  4. Lois says:

    I follow the Humans of NY instagram account and I love reading the stories posted there. However, I was and still am a bit hesitant to pick up the book. I feel like the shorter stories might pack more of a punch if that makes sense.

  5. You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) is the only biography I’ve read in the last 5 years, so me too. And I really enjoyed it. Yay for Doctor Horrible!

  6. Thanks for sharing! The Humans of NY stories sound interesting. I have seen their posts on social media and reading the stories would be outside my comfort zone too. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier 🙂

What are your thoughts?

