Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and feature lists related to all things bookish–characters, authors, titles, and favorites. They’re an excellent way to find new interesting books on a variety of topics, and to find bloggers that love the books you do.

Check out their blog for their top ten and lists of other bloggers who participate!

March 14: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

These are the books I most look forward to reading from March 20th to June 20th.

1. White Hot; Ilona Andrews. This book can’t come out soon enough. I need more Nevada and Rogan.

2. A Man Called Ove; Fredrik Backman. The Bloggess loved it. Must read!

3. The Skill of Our Hands; Steven Brust. Reincarnation and secret societies and trying to make the world a better place.

4. Atlas Obscura; Joshua Foer. Collects a bunch of strange places. Sounds interesting!

5. Norse Mythology; Neil Gaiman. A collection of Norse myths, by a favorite author.

6. The Stars are Legion; Kameron Hurley. Spaceships and treachery!

7. Wintersong; S. Jae-Jones. Pretty cover, some hype, I’m curious.

8. Wires & Nerve; Marissa Meyer. The story of Iko. Yes, please!

9. Strange the Dreamer; Laini Taylor. I liked the Smoke & Bone series, so have to give this one a try. Also, the main character is a librarian.

10. Heartstone; Elle Katharine White. Pride & Prejudice with dragons!

 

 

 

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

27 responses »

  1. Lilyn G says:

    I’m kind of interested in picking up the Norse Myths book. But so far I’ve only encountered this on audio, and… well… *shifty* -whispers- I’m not actually a fan of Gaiman’s voice, so….

    Our TTT

    • Maybe your library has it in print? That’s where I found mine.
      Hah! In some circles, that’d get you jumped! But whatever cute name the Gaiman fans call themselves…
      Your secrets safe with me, though. 😉

  2. I’m interested in Strange the Dreamer, but I’m waiting to read a lot of reviews first because I wasn’t exactly in love with her last series.
    My TTT.

  3. tiareleine says:

    I so excited for Strange the Dreamer. I feel like I have been waiting for a new Laini Taylor book for so long–although, I hope it the hype hasn’t been too much for it. There’s always a danger that hype will set expectations unreachably high.

    Great list! 🙂

  4. Marcia says:

    I am with you on White Hot. It seems like FOREVER we’ve been waiting for this series to move on, after such a great first book. I can’t wait!! I’ve given up on Norse Mythology, having found the one thing Gaiman has written that I just don’t like. And I’ve been meaning to read Smoke and Bone forever, like since before she stopped painting, and started writing. Good to know you liked it. I’ll grab that one, and then be ready for the new stuff. 🙂 Great choices, as always Caitlin.

    • Right? That whole re-print the first book thing made me sad, but what can you do?
      If I don’t like the new Gaiman, back to the library it will go!
      Hope you like Smoke & Bone. Sometimes it’s a bit teen angst fraught, but I just adore that world!

  5. I’m currently reading Strange the Dreamer and though I’m no librarian myself, Lazlo certainly gives me super librarian feels (or just instinctual “reader” things that make me think ‘that’s so me!’) I do hope you read it; it’s been gorgeously written so far!

    Cheers,
    Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

  6. I ordered Wintersong and Strange the Dreamer last week. Should be some good reads.

  7. I really want to read Gaiman’s Norse Mythology as well! I’ve heard it’s really good, and I love mythology so it sounds perfect for me! Some great reads; I’m interested in Strange the Dreamer, too. 🙂

  8. wcs53 says:

    Some good reads here. I’d be interested in reading the Neil Gaiman one some time, but I have too many other books on the go currently.

  9. Great picks for this week. I’ve seen Strange the Dreamer on a lot of lists but that just proves how highly anticipated this book really is. Also I can’t wait to start Norse Mythology myself. I love Neil Gaiman’s writing and I’m sure this one will be no different. 🙂

  10. Donna says:

    Oooh, what’s that Ilona Andrews book? I was completely unaware of it even existing (although I am very behind on my Ilona Andrews books :(). I loved Strange the Dreamer and would definitely recommend it. I didn’t love DOSAB, but StD is 100 times better (I think anyway!).

  11. I recently purchased A Man Called Ove at my local library’s book sale and I’m anxious to get to it, especially since the movie recently left my local theatre. Read the book before you see the movie. I work part-time at a bookstore and I keep looking at this book but keep passing it up because I need to get through some of my TBRs. Enjoy and I look forward to reading your thoughts on them.

  12. Jasmine says:

    Great list! I have seen many 5 stars for Neil Gailman’s book. Have you read it yet?

  13. Norse Mythology is on my Spring TBR too. I cannot wait!

    I highly recommend A Man Called Ove! It wasn’t at all what I was expecting, but there are so many wonderful things about it. Can’t wait to see what you think 🙂

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.