Jenny Lawson, the Bloggess, doodles and writes inspirational quotes on her doodles. She put them together with inspirational quotes on the pages between. The result is You Are Here.

She read the introduction aloud. And it was just as funny and touching as you’d expect. I won’t spoil it, but it is awesome.

And she told some stories, including one that made me smile. Neil Gaiman, another writer I adore, seems to know every other writer I like–and he knows Jenny, too. He reads her books first, and gives excellent feedback. This works in reverse, too. She offered to read a book he was struggling with, and he sent her a draft of Ocean at the End of the Lane.

He offered her the best advice she’s ever gotten: “Pretend you’re good at it.”

It’s a small world, isn’t it?

Jenny is hunting for some horribly bizarre taxidermy for the cover of her next book. I wonder what she’ll come up with. It’s difficult to beat a Shakespearean mouse and manic racoon.

It’s always fun to see the people who come out to a signing. Even if all those people mean I have to stand (or sit on the floor, like I did this time.) It’s mostly the devoted fans who come out–and the bookstore was packed full of people who love Jenny. It’s wonderful to see people who love the same things you do.

You are here. Stay crazy, my friends.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

6 responses »

  1. beckmank says:

    Wow! I would love to hear Jenny speak. She is amazing. I bought this book and it is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  2. paintdigi says:

    Nice posts.
    Beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    Paintdigi.comm

  3. Isn’t Jenny the best? I met her back in October and she is just so awesome. When I went up to get my book (Furiously Happy) signed, she was happy to chat with me for a while… until my friend yelled at me for “hogging Jenny Lawson” lol

    I didn’t realize she and Neil Gaiman (one of my faves) were such good friends/associates. You learn something new every day!

What are your thoughts?

