~~~**~~***~Happy Thanksgiving for everyone who celebrates. May you have plenty of good food, good company, and good books to be thankful for!~***~~**~~~

I’m doing the 2016 Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, and you should, too! You could always start it next year, who’s to stop you? (Click the link to see the challenge, and to download a PDF of the challenge list.)

book riot

To quote the article: “We encourage you to push yourself, to take advantage of this challenge as a way to explore topics or formats or genres that you otherwise wouldn’t try. But this isn’t a test. […] We like books because they allow us to see the world from a new perspective, and sometimes we all need help to even know which perspectives to try out.”

This is National Novel Writing Month, so I’m only doing one book this month.

  • Read a play.

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?; Edward Albee.

whos-afraid-of-virginia-woolf

This is the script of a 1962 play.

I like my dark comedy, but this is far more dark than comedy in my opinion. Full of subtext and passive-aggressive interactions, it’s basically about two couples, one older and one younger, who met at a faculty party, and sit and drink and talk… or fight. And fight they do! Dredging up painful history, secrets, hinting and circling back, threatening each other with remembered pain… it’s pretty painful to read.

The little hints and subtext are interesting to figure out, and it wasn’t too difficult to make it there before the play revealed the truth. The characters lie a lot, and my but they drink a lot, too! I lost count, but I’m impressed they didn’t all end up passed out on the floor. If you liked The Glass Menagerie, or “Hills Like White Elephants,” you should like this play.

most-likes

Funnily enough, I got my most likes–22 on the 22nd–on my birthday. The coincidence makes me smile.

About Caitlin Stern

I have a MA in English, and have so many fantasy/urban fantasy WIPs it's not even funny. I'm an avid reader of science fiction, fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, fiction, and anything else that catches my interest. I collect books, and bookmarks I find that are visually appealing and useful.

2 responses »

  1. Marcia says:

    While I enjoyed The Glass Menagerie, I really hated this one. The movie was just too ugly and mean for me. I know it explores a certain side of humanity, and is considered a fine play, but I remember walking out of the theater feeling slightly sick. Tragedy I can handle, and even anger, but this one is too much for me. I congratulate you on giving it a try, though. You should watch the movie some day. Elizabeth Taylor as Martha, and Richard Burton as George, so full of spite and vicious anger, it made you wonder if they’d had some practice in real life. (I think that might be one reason I was so uncomfortable watching it.) A very young George Segal and Sandy Dennis made a perfect foil for the vitriol, I will say. Especially Dennis.

    But as always, if I don’t care about the characters (much less detest them), I’m not ever going to really love any story, so I was pretty much doomed to hate this one.

What are your thoughts?

